As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Stated Capacity | Best For | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 16 Cu Ft Rooftop Cargo Carrier with Dual Side Opening, ABS PMMA Black Roof Box for Car SUV, 130 lbs Capacity, 58.3"x35.4"x13", Tool-Free Install | 16 cu ft | The widest published lid-opening figure here | Check Price on Amazon |
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier with Dual-Side Opening, Tool-Free Install, Secure Lock System Fits Most Roof Racks, Fits Up to 150 lbs, Black | 26 cu ft | Maximum stated volume | Check Price on Amazon |
| Rooftop Cargo Carrier 14 Cu Ft Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box Dual Side Opening | 14 cu ft | Buyers who need published crossbar limits | Check Price on Amazon |
| Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage | 14 cu ft | The highest published load rating here | Check Price on Amazon |
| Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Hard-Shell Carrier | 11.5 cu ft | The lowest published profile | Check Price on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Look — if you searched for a roof box that opens from the back, you have a specific problem. You park nose-in against a garage wall, your driveway is pinched against a fence, or you'd rather not stand in a traffic lane fishing for a duffel bag.
Here's the thing: the ten carriers on this page all attack that reach problem from a different angle. Every one of them is described by its retailer listing as a dual-side opening box, not a rear-hatch box. That is a genuine design distinction, and this page is not going to blur it to match a search phrase.
What follows is a close read of each listing's published numbers — stated capacity, stated exterior dimensions, stated load rating, shell material, locking behaviour and whatever the seller says about crossbar fit. Where a listing doesn't state something, this page says so instead of filling the gap.
Nobody on this site has installed, loaded or driven with any of these carriers. This website does not do hands-on testing. Every figure below comes from the product listings themselves, retrieved 2026-09-11.
- Boasting a massive 26 cubic feet of storage space and a 150 lbs load capacity, this rooftop box provides ample room for luggage, camping gear, and sports equipment
- Crafted from high-grade ABS+PC composite material, this cargo box is rugged, impact-resistant, and built to withstand harsh weather. Its shiny finish ensures long-lasting
- 【DURABLE CONSTRUCTION】Crafted from high-quality ABS material, the hard shell rooftop cargo box ensures long-lasting durability. Its waterproof and UV-resistant design protects
- 【SPACIOUS 12/14
- 【DURABLE CONSTRUCTION】Crafted from high-quality ABS material, the hard shell rooftop cargo box ensures long-lasting durability. Its waterproof and UV-resistant design protects
- 【SPACIOUS 11.5 CUBIC FEET STORAGE】With dimensions of 54.3"L x 31.5"W x 11.4"H, the rooftop cargo box offers 11.5 cubic feet (326L) of extra storage space. With a maximum capacity
- 【DURABLE CONSTRUCTION】Crafted from high-quality ABS material, the hard shell rooftop cargo box ensures long-lasting durability. Its waterproof and UV-resistant design protects
- 【SPACIOUS 12/14
Rear-Opening vs. Single-Side vs. Dual-Side Opening
Short answer: a rear-opening roof box hinges toward the front of the vehicle so the lid lifts from behind the tailgate; a single-side box opens from one side only, usually the kerb side; a dual-side box hinges along its spine and can be swung open from either side of the car. All ten boxes covered here are the dual-side type.
Two of them lean hard toward single-side use in practice. The 16 cubic foot box states that it opens up to 14.5 inches wide from the passenger side with strong support arms to hold the lid open during use. The 14 cubic foot carrier from a different seller describes passenger-side dual opening with strong support arms that hold the lid open for loading and unloading. If your real requirement is "I want to load from the kerb, not the traffic side," a dual-side box covers that use case; if your requirement is literally "the lid must lift from the rear bumper," none of these listings promises that.
If you are chasing the SportRack Vista XL specifically because of its rear-opening layout, verify the opening direction, exterior dimensions and load rating against SportRack's own published specifications. That model is not one of the carriers covered on this page.
One habit worth building regardless of which box you choose: several of these listings explicitly instruct you to make sure one side is locked before you open the other. Treat that as a load-securement step, not a suggestion, and never drive with a lid unlatched.
The Boxes, Read Spec by Spec
Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 16 Cu Ft Rooftop Cargo Carrier with Dual Side Opening, ABS PMMA Black Roof Box for Car SUV, 130 lbs Capacity, 58.3"x35.4"x13", Tool-Free Install — Best for the widest published side-opening figure
This listing publishes the one number most side-opening shoppers actually want and almost nobody prints: the box opens up to 14.5 inches wide from the passenger side, with strong support arms to hold the lid open during use. Only one other carrier on this page publishes a lid-opening width at all, and that one is quoted at 13.4 inches. If kerbside access is the reason you're shopping, a stated opening width is more useful to you than another paragraph about aerodynamics.
The rest of the sheet is conventional. The seller lists 16 cubic feet of space with overall dimensions of 58.3 inches long by 35.4 inches wide by 13 inches high, built from ABS and PMMA that the listing describes as UV-resistant, impact-resistant and weatherproof. Its stated 130 lbs capacity is the lowest of the load ratings published on this page — and note that one listing here states no capacity figure at all, which is not the same as a low one.
That 35.4-inch width is the widest exterior width published among these boxes, so measure your crossbar span and roof width before you commit. A published overall width tells you the shell's footprint, not that it clears your roof rails or your garage door.
Pros
- Publishes an actual lid-opening width (14.5 inches, passenger side)
- Support arms are specified to hold the lid open during loading
- ABS + PMMA shell described as UV-resistant, impact-resistant and weatherproof
- Lock system designed so the key only comes out when the box is securely closed
- Tool-free mounting, listed as compatible with most round, square and aerodynamic crossbars
- 130 lbs is the lowest published load rating among the boxes here
- 35.4 inches wide is the widest published width on this page — check roof and rack clearance
- The listing does not state a specific crossbar width range
Verdict: the pick for the buyer whose whole decision hinges on how far the lid swings clear on the kerb side, provided the 130 lbs rating covers your packing list.
Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier with Dual-Side Opening, Tool-Free Install, Secure Lock System Fits Most Roof Racks, Fits Up to 150 lbs, Black — Best for maximum stated volume
Twenty-six cubic feet is, by the published numbers, the largest stated volume in this group — the next largest here is 16 cubic feet. The listing pairs that with a 150 lbs load capacity and an ABS+PC composite shell described as rugged, impact-resistant and built to withstand rain, snow, dust and UV.
Do the arithmetic before you get excited, though. Twenty-six cubic feet against 150 lbs works out to roughly 5.8 lbs per cubic foot of average density, which suggests this box is designed for bulky-but-light loads — sleeping bags, jackets, camp chairs — rather than dense gear like tools or books. Volume is not a weight allowance, and the 150 lbs figure is the one that governs.
Access is handled by a dual-side opening lid that the seller says opens 13.4 inches wide and stays put on strong support arms, with a central locking system whose keys can only be removed once all locking points are fully secured. Mounting is tool-free, with brackets the listing says fit most factory-installed and aftermarket racks including round, square and aerodynamic bars. Worth knowing: this listing does not state exterior dimensions, so you cannot confirm roof fit from it alone — ask the seller for length and width before ordering.
Pros
- 26 cubic feet is the largest stated volume among these carriers
- 150 lbs load capacity, matching the highest published figures here
- ABS+PC composite shell with weather and UV claims from the seller
- Central locking system: keys release only when every locking point is secured
- Lid opening width published at 13.4 inches with support arms
- Exterior length, width and height are not stated in the listing
- The volume-to-capacity ratio points to light, bulky cargo rather than dense loads
Verdict: buy it for volume-hungry, low-density gear — but confirm the exterior footprint with the seller first, because the listing doesn't publish it.
Rooftop Cargo Carrier 14 Cu Ft Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box Dual Side Opening — Best for buyers who want published crossbar limits
This is the listing to read if you've been burned by a carrier that didn't fit your bars. It specifies a universal mounting system that fits round, square and most aerodynamic cross bars up to 3 inches wide, with adjustable mounting holes to match most vehicle roof rack setups, and it tells you plainly to verify cross bar width and mounting distance before purchase. That is the correct instruction, and it's refreshingly specific.
The shell is ABS and PMMA — described as rugged, impact-resistant and glossy — with a 150 lbs weight capacity and 14 cubic feet of space inside overall dimensions of 62.52 long by 32.48 wide by 13.19 inches high. At just over 62 inches long, this is one of the longer boxes here, which is the trade you make for skis and long duffels.
Access is described as passenger-side dual opening with strong support arms, and the security lock only allows key removal when all latches are fully closed. That last detail is a genuinely useful design behaviour: it makes "I forgot to latch it" harder to do by accident.
Pros
- Publishes a crossbar limit (up to 3 inches wide) and bar types it fits
- 150 lbs stated capacity with 14 cubic feet of space
- Adjustable mounting holes for varied rack spacing
- Key releases only when all latches are closed
- Tool-free setup with no extra assembly listed
- At 62.52 inches long it needs real roof length — measure before buying
- The listing does not state a lid-opening width
Verdict: the most fit-transparent listing in this group, and a sensible choice for long gear on an SUV or wagon with confirmed crossbar spacing.
Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, Dual-Side Opening Car Roof Cargo Box with Security Key, 150LBS Capacity, Car Roof Cargo Carrier for 17.32" to 38.58" Wide Crossbar Rack — Best for checking rack span before you order
The headline spec here is compatibility precision: the seller states the box suits racks 17.32 to 38.58 inches wide, with crossbar width under 3 inches. That range is the single most actionable number on the page for anyone with unusual bar spacing — measure the distance between your bars, compare, done.
Dimensionally it's 62.5 long by 32.5 wide by 13 inches high, holding 14 cubic feet with a maximum load of 150 lbs, in an ABS and PMMA shell the listing calls waterproof and UV-resistant. The dual-sided lid opens from either side, and the package includes 2 keys and 2 straps, with the instruction to make sure one side is locked before opening the other.
On setup, the seller says the package contains all installation components and instructions, and that no additional tools are required. Nice. Just remember: included straps and hardware do not by themselves establish a complete, correct installation on every vehicle — your rack's own load limit and your vehicle's roof load limit still apply on top of the box's 150 lbs rating.
Pros
- Explicit rack-width compatibility range published: 17.32 to 38.58 inches
- 14 cubic feet with a 150 lbs stated maximum load
- ABS and PMMA shell, described as waterproof and UV-resistant
- Includes 2 keys and 2 straps
- All installation components and instructions stated as included; no extra tools needed
- The listing does not state a lid-opening width
- Requires one side to be locked before the other is opened
Verdict: the safest spec-sheet match for anyone who has already measured their crossbar span and wants a number to check it against.
Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage — Best for the highest published load rating
This listing states 14 cubic feet (390L) and a maximum capacity of 165 lbs — the highest load figure published among these carriers. If your packing list runs to heavier, denser items and your rack and roof limits allow it, that headroom is the reason to shortlist this one.
The dimension line is unusual and worth flagging: it quotes two sizes, 54.3 long by 31.5 wide by 13.4 inches high and 62.2 long by 31.5 wide by 13.4 inches high, under a heading reading 12/14 cubic feet, while the body of the bullet states 14 cubic feet (390L). Don't guess which shell arrives. Confirm the exact variant, its length and its volume with the seller before ordering, because a 54.3-inch box and a 62.2-inch box are very different objects on a small roof.
The rest is standard for this family: ABS construction the seller calls waterproof and UV-resistant, an aerodynamic shape the listing claims reduces fuel consumption and noise, 2 keys and 2 straps, a one-year warranty, and the usual instruction to keep one side locked while the other is open.
Pros
- 165 lbs maximum capacity, the highest stated on this page
- 14 cubic feet (390L) of quoted storage volume
- One-year warranty stated by the seller
- 2 keys and 2 straps included
- Dual-side access from either side of the vehicle
- The listing quotes two different shell lengths and a 12/14 cubic feet heading against a 14 cubic feet body figure — confirm the exact variant before buying
- No crossbar width range is stated in the listing
Verdict: the load-rating pick at 165 lbs, on the condition that you nail down which shell length you're actually buying.
GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage — Best for buyers weighing two shell lengths
Nearly the same spec family as the previous entry, with one meaningful difference in the published text: this listing states 12 cubic feet (340L) of storage while also carrying a 12/14 cubic feet heading and the same two dimension sets, 54.3 by 31.5 by 13.4 inches and 62.2 by 31.5 by 13.4 inches. Maximum capacity is stated at 165 lbs.
So the sensible reading is this: if the shorter 54.3-inch shell is the one you need for a compact roof, this is the listing quoting the smaller 12 cubic feet volume against the same 165 lbs rating. That's a favourable ratio — more weight allowance per cubic foot than the 26 cubic foot box's 150 lbs across 26 cubic feet — which suits denser cargo.
Construction is ABS, described as waterproof and UV-resistant with an aerodynamic shape the seller says reduces fuel consumption and noise. You get 2 keys and 2 straps, a one-year warranty, and the same locking sequence rule. As always, the seller's "universal fit" wording is a starting point, not confirmation — check your rack guidelines first.
Pros
- 165 lbs maximum capacity against a stated 12 cubic feet (340L)
- Two published shell lengths to choose between
- ABS shell with waterproof and UV-resistant claims from the seller
- One-year warranty, 2 keys and 2 straps
- The volume heading (12/14 cubic feet) and the stated 12 cubic feet figure need clarifying with the seller
- No stated crossbar width limit or lid-opening width
Verdict: worth a look if you want the higher 165 lbs rating in the shorter 54.3-inch footprint — after you confirm the variant.
Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening for Vehicle — Best for compact roofs with no length to spare
No ambiguity in this one, which is its quiet advantage. A single stated size: 54.3 inches long, 31.5 wide, 13.4 high, holding 12 cubic feet (340L), with a maximum capacity of 135 lbs.
That 54.3-inch length is the shortest published footprint shared by several boxes here, and it's the figure that matters if you drive a hatchback or compact sedan where a 62-inch shell would overhang awkwardly. Volume is a clean 340 litres — enough for soft luggage for a family weekend, not a moving job.
The shell is ABS, listed as waterproof and UV-resistant with an aerodynamic shape the seller credits with reducing fuel consumption and noise. Treat that noise-and-economy language as a manufacturer claim, not a measured result; no figure is attached to it. You get 2 keys and 2 straps, a one-year warranty, and the standard requirement to lock one side before opening the other.
Pros
- Single, unambiguous published size: 54.3 by 31.5 by 13.4 inches
- 12 cubic feet (340L) with a 135 lbs stated capacity
- One-year warranty stated by the seller
- 2 keys and 2 straps included
- 135 lbs is below the 150 and 165 lbs figures published elsewhere on this page
- No crossbar width range or lid-opening width is stated
Verdict: a straightforward compact-roof choice when you want one clearly stated size rather than a variant you have to chase down.
Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Hard-Shell Carrier — Best for the lowest published profile
At 11.4 inches high, this is the lowest published height among these carriers, paired with 54.3 inches of length and 31.5 inches of width for 11.5 cubic feet (326L) of space and a 135 lbs maximum capacity.
Why care about two inches of height? Garage clearance and parking structures, mostly. A lower shell also sits less proud of the roofline, and while the seller attributes reduced fuel consumption and noise to the aerodynamic shape, no figures back that up — so treat the height itself as the concrete benefit and the efficiency language as a claim.
The trade is real: 11.5 cubic feet is the smallest stated volume on this page, well under the 26 cubic feet leader. The construction story matches its siblings — ABS, described as waterproof and UV-resistant, with 2 keys, 2 straps, a one-year warranty, and the instruction to keep one side locked while the other is open.
Pros
- 11.4 inches tall, the lowest published height among these boxes
- Compact 54.3-inch length suits shorter roofs
- 135 lbs stated capacity across 11.5 cubic feet (326L)
- One-year warranty, 2 keys and 2 straps
- 11.5 cubic feet is the smallest stated volume here
- No published crossbar width limit or lid-opening width
Verdict: the clearance-constrained pick — choose it when your garage height, not your packing list, is the binding limit.
12 Cubic Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Hard-Shell Vehicle Roof Mount Travel Luggage Storage, 135Lbs Weight Capacity with Secure Straps & Keys, Black — Best for a no-surprises 12 cubic foot setup
This listing states 12 cubic feet (340L) at 54.3 inches long by 31.5 wide by 13.4 high, with a maximum weight capacity of 135 lbs and a premium ABS shell the seller describes as fully waterproof and UV-resistant.
It is spec-for-spec the same published size and rating as the single-size Garvee entry above, which makes the choice between them a matter of price and availability rather than capability. Both publish 2 keys and 2 straps, both carry a stated one-year warranty, and both repeat the instruction to make sure one side is securely locked before opening the other.
What you don't get from this listing is a crossbar width limit or a rack span range; it says only to verify your roof rack dimensions against the seller's fitting guidelines before purchase. Take that seriously. A "universal vehicle fit" line in a bullet point is not confirmation that the brackets will clamp your specific bars.
Pros
- Clear published size: 54.3 by 31.5 by 13.4 inches, 12 cubic feet (340L)
- 135 lbs stated maximum weight capacity
- 2 secure straps and 2 keys included
- One-year warranty stated by the seller
- No crossbar width range or lid-opening width in the listing
- Capacity sits below the 150 and 165 lbs ratings published elsewhere here
Verdict: a clean mid-size option for weekend luggage when 340 litres and 135 lbs cover your list.
14 Cubic Feet Rooftop Cargo Box White Dual Side Opening with 2 Lock Keys Heavy Duty Roof Storage Box 56.3 Inch L x 25.98 Inch W x 16.14 Inch H — Best for narrow crossbar footprints
The geometry here is the outlier, and that's the interesting part. The listing states 56.3 inches long, 25.98 inches wide and 16.14 inches high for 14 cubic feet. Among the boxes on this page that publish a width, 25.98 inches is the narrowest — and among those that publish a height, 16.14 inches is the tallest.
Read that shape properly: it trades footprint for height. A narrow, tall box leaves more bare roof beside it, which can matter if you also run a bike mount or a narrow rack, while the extra height buys volume without length. Whether that added height suits your parking clearance is your call.
The listing states the box can be opened from both sides and is supported by strong mechanical arms to remain open until closed, and it comes with 2 lock keys. Two candid limitations: the seller states that installation instructions are not included and that professional installation is always recommended, and the listing does not state a weight capacity. That missing figure isn't evidence of a weak box — it simply means you have no published load limit to plan against, so ask the seller before you load it.
Pros
- 25.98 inches wide — the narrowest published width on this page
- 14 cubic feet within a 56.3-inch length
- Opens from both sides with mechanical arms that hold it open until closed
- Includes 2 lock keys
- Installation instructions are not included; the seller recommends professional installation
- No weight capacity is stated in the listing
- 16.14 inches is the tallest published height here — check garage clearance
Verdict: the shortlist candidate for narrow racks and shared roof space, as long as you're comfortable sourcing a load rating and installation help separately.
Full Specification Comparison
| Product | Stated Volume | Stated Exterior Dimensions (in) | Stated Load Rating | Shell Material |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier with Dual-Side Opening, Tool-Free Install, Secure Lock System Fits Most Roof Racks, Fits Up to 150 lbs, Black | 26 cu ft | Not stated | 150 lbs | ABS+PC composite |
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 16 Cu Ft Rooftop Cargo Carrier with Dual Side Opening, ABS PMMA Black Roof Box for Car SUV, 130 lbs Capacity, 58.3"x35.4"x13", Tool-Free Install | 16 cu ft | 58.3 x 35.4 x 13 | 130 lbs | ABS + PMMA |
| Rooftop Cargo Carrier 14 Cu Ft Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box Dual Side Opening | 14 cu ft | 62.52 x 32.48 x 13.19 | 150 lbs | ABS & PMMA |
| Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell, Dual-Side Opening Car Roof Cargo Box with Security Key, 150LBS Capacity, Car Roof Cargo Carrier for 17.32" to 38.58" Wide Crossbar Rack | 14 cu ft | 62.5 x 32.5 x 13 | 150 lbs | ABS and PMMA |
| Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage | 14 cu ft (390L) | 54.3 x 31.5 x 13.4 / 62.2 x 31.5 x 13.4 | 165 lbs | ABS |
| GarveeTech Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage | 12 cu ft (340L) | 54.3 x 31.5 x 13.4 / 62.2 x 31.5 x 13.4 | 165 lbs | ABS |
| 14 Cubic Feet Rooftop Cargo Box White Dual Side Opening with 2 Lock Keys Heavy Duty Roof Storage Box 56.3 Inch L x 25.98 Inch W x 16.14 Inch H | 14 cu ft | 56.3 x 25.98 x 16.14 | Not stated | Not specified |
| Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening for Vehicle | 12 cu ft (340L) | 54.3 x 31.5 x 13.4 | 135 lbs | ABS |
| 12 Cubic Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Hard-Shell Vehicle Roof Mount Travel Luggage Storage, 135Lbs Weight Capacity with Secure Straps & Keys, Black | 12 cu ft (340L) | 54.3 x 31.5 x 13.4 | 135 lbs | ABS |
| Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Hard-Shell Carrier | 11.5 cu ft (326L) | 54.3 x 31.5 x 11.4 | 135 lbs | ABS |
What to Look For in a Side-Opening Roof Box
- Opening width, not just "dual-side opening." Most listings here say the lid opens from both sides; only two publish how far. If reach is your actual problem, that number is the spec that solves it.
- Load rating, treated as the hard ceiling. Volume is not a weight allowance. A 26 cubic foot shell rated at 150 lbs will run out of weight long before it runs out of space with dense cargo.
- Your rack's limit and your vehicle's roof limit — separately. The box's rating is one of at least three limits in play. The carrier's own weight counts against your roof and rack limits too, so check your owner's manual and rack documentation and plan against the lowest number. Our guide to rooftop cargo box weight limits walks through how these stack.
- Crossbar compatibility in numbers. Two listings here publish real constraints: a 17.32 to 38.58 inch rack width range, and a 3-inch maximum crossbar width. If a listing gives you no numbers, measure your bars and ask the seller. See also choosing crossbars for a cargo box.
- Locking behaviour. Several of these use a design where the key only releases once every latch or locking point is closed. That's a small mechanical safeguard against driving off unlatched, and it's worth having.
- Clearance and footprint. Published heights here range from 11.4 to 16.14 inches, and published widths from 25.98 to 35.4 inches. Measure your garage, your roof and the gap between your rails before ordering — an overall dimension is a footprint, not proof of fit.
- What arrives in the box. One listing states installation instructions are not included and recommends professional installation. Another states all components and instructions are included with no extra tools needed. That gap is worth knowing before delivery day.
How We Research
This page is built from two source types and nothing else: verified retailer product records for each ASIN and the product listing feature bullets published on those listings, all retrieved 2026-09-11. We read every bullet for each carrier, extract the stated volumes, dimensions, load ratings, materials, locking behaviour and fit constraints, and compare them arithmetically against one another.
Where a listing omits a figure — a lid-opening width, a crossbar limit, an exterior dimension, a weight capacity — we record it as not stated rather than assuming it is zero or that the manufacturer has never published it elsewhere. Seller claims about waterproofing, fuel economy and noise are reported as seller claims, because that is what they are. For safety recall history on consumer products generally, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is the authority to check, and USA.gov's consumer protection pages explain your options if a product arrives defective.
Recommendations by Use Case
- You need the lid to swing clear on the kerb side: the 16 cubic foot box, because it publishes a 14.5-inch opening width from the passenger side with support arms — the widest stated opening figure on this page.
- You're hauling bulky, light gear: the 26 cubic foot carrier, whose 26 cubic feet is the largest stated volume here, against a 150 lbs capacity that suits low-density loads.
- You're carrying heavier, denser cargo: the Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Luggage Storage, at 165 lbs — the highest published load rating in this group — subject to your rack and roof limits.
- You're unsure your bars will fit: the Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell with its published 17.32 to 38.58 inch rack range, or the Rooftop Cargo Carrier 14 Cu Ft Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box Dual Side Opening with its stated 3-inch maximum crossbar width.
- Your garage clearance is tight: the Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, Dual-Side Opening Hard-Shell Carrier at 11.4 inches tall, the lowest published height here.
- Your rack is narrow or shared with another mount: the 14 Cubic Feet Rooftop Cargo Box White Dual Side Opening at 25.98 inches wide, the narrowest published width — accepting that no load rating is stated.
Final Verdict
Honestly? If your search started with "rear opening," the most valuable thing this page can tell you is that these ten boxes are side-openers, and you should buy one on that basis or keep looking at genuine rear-hatch designs.
If a side-opener works for you, the 16 cubic foot box is the one whose specification sheet actually answers the access question, because it publishes a 14.5-inch passenger-side opening width and support arms to hold the lid there — and you accept a 130 lbs rating and a 35.4-inch width in exchange. Need weight headroom instead? The 165 lbs Garvee listing is the highest published rating here. Need raw space? Twenty-six cubic feet is the biggest stated volume, with the density caveat attached.
Whatever you pick, confirm crossbar spacing and bar width, confirm your vehicle's roof load limit, and never set off with a lid unlatched.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between a single-side opening roof box and a dual-side one? A single-side box can only be opened from one side of the vehicle; a dual-side box hinges centrally so either side can be opened. Two listings here emphasise passenger-side access specifically: one states the lid opens up to 14.5 inches wide from the passenger side, and another describes passenger-side dual opening with strong support arms.
Which side should I open my roof box from? Whenever possible, the kerb side — you're not standing in traffic. Note that several of these listings instruct you to make sure one side is locked before opening the other, so follow the seller's stated sequence rather than opening both.
How much weight can these roof boxes hold? Published capacities on this page range from 130 lbs up to 165 lbs, and one listing states no capacity at all. Those ratings are the carrier's limit only — your vehicle's roof load limit and your rack's own limit apply separately, and the weight of the box itself counts against them.
Will one of these fit my roof rack? Two listings give usable numbers: one states compatibility with racks 17.32 to 38.58 inches wide with crossbars under 3 inches, and another states it fits round, square and most aerodynamic cross bars up to 3 inches wide. The rest describe universal fit with a roof rack and tell you to check their fitting guidelines, so measure your bar spacing and bar width and confirm with the seller first.
Are these cargo boxes waterproof? Several sellers describe their shells as waterproof and UV-resistant, including the ABS models and the ABS+PMMA builds described as weatherproof. Those are manufacturer claims from the listings rather than independently verified test results, so treat sensitive gear accordingly.
Is the SportRack Vista XL one of these boxes? No — the SportRack Vista XL is not among the carriers covered on this page, and no specification for it is presented here. Check SportRack's own published specifications for its opening direction, dimensions and load rating.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page was physically or laboratory-tested by this website; no box here was mounted, loaded, weighed or driven with. What we did was read each carrier's verified retailer product record and every product listing feature bullet attached to it, retrieved 2026-09-11, then line the published volumes, exterior dimensions, load ratings, shell materials, lock behaviour and crossbar constraints up side by side so the gaps and the outliers become visible.
For rooftop cargo boxes, that kind of specification reading gets you a long way: capacity, footprint, rated load and stated fit limits are exactly the facts that decide whether a box suits your roof, and they are all published. What it cannot tell you is how a given shell behaves after two winters, how loud it is at 70 mph, or whether a seal leaks in sustained rain — no listing establishes that, and neither does this page.