As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Published Capacity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thule Motion 3 XXL Rooftop Cargo Box, 21 Cubic Feet | Highway families who want a click-confirmed mount and included locks | 21 cubic feet | Check Price on Amazon |
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier | The largest published volume in this group | 26 cubic feet, 150 lbs | Check Price on Amazon |
| Rooftop Cargo Box, 15.5 Cubic Ft | Closest step-down below the XXL threshold | 15.5 cubic feet, 130 lbs | Check Price on Amazon |
| Rooftop Cargo Box, 13 Cubic Ft | Mid-size crossovers carrying bulky, light gear | 13 cubic feet, 130 lbs | Check Price on Amazon |
| INNO GEAR CARRY Matte Black | Buyers who want a wheeled box that rolls to the campsite | 6 cubic feet | Check Price on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Here's the thing about shopping for an XXL roof box: "extra large" gets stamped on listings that are nowhere near 17 cubic feet. This page works only from published listing specifications, and of the roof boxes in the research pool for this article, exactly two publish a capacity that lands inside the 17 to 26 cubic foot window in the title.
So that is where the detailed reviews go. The rest of the lineup is covered honestly further down as step-down options, because a 13 cubic foot box is a perfectly good purchase for the right vehicle, just not an answer to "biggest roof cargo box cubic feet."
Nobody on this website has handled, mounted, loaded or driven with any of these carriers. Everything below is read off the published listing records and reasoned about out loud, with the reasoning labeled as reasoning.
Prices change constantly, so this table sends you to the live listing instead of quoting a figure that ages badly.
- Wing-shaped profile with a dynamic, forward-leaning nose for reduced drag and fuel efficiency
- Sturdy lid design with a wide handle for smooth opening and closing with just one hand
- Boasting a massive 26 cubic feet of storage space and a 150 lbs load capacity, this rooftop box provides ample room for luggage, camping gear, and sports equipment
- Crafted from high-grade ABS+PC composite material, this cargo box is rugged, impact-resistant, and built to withstand harsh weather. Its shiny finish ensures long-lasting
- Take all gears in box to your destination
- Installable from one side and lock with levers on Quick base (Sold separately)
The Short Answer
Two boxes here meet the brief. Thule's listing publishes 21 cubic feet for the Thule Motion 3 XXL Rooftop Cargo Box, and states that locks are included. The other listing publishes 26 cubic feet of storage space and a 150 lbs load capacity, which is the largest published volume and the highest published load rating among the boxes in this article.
One caution before you get excited about that 150 lbs number: among the boxes here that publish both a volume and a load rating, the 26 cubic foot carrier has the lowest weight allowance per cubic foot. Divide the published figures and it works out to roughly 5.8 pounds per cubic foot, versus 10 pounds per cubic foot for a 13 cubic foot box rated at 130 lbs. That is an arithmetic inference, not a durability judgment, and it matters because volume runs out slower than weight does.
The Two Boxes That Actually Hit 17 to 26 Cubic Feet
Thule Motion 3 XXL Rooftop Cargo Box, 21 Cubic Feet — Best for long-haul family highway trips where mounting confidence matters
At a published 21 cubic feet with locks included, this is the box in the group that is engineered around the act of installing and closing it rather than just around the shell. The listing describes a PowerClick quick-mount system with an integrated torque indicator that clicks when the box is properly mounted. Read that as what it is: a mechanical cue that the clamp has reached its intended tension, so you are not guessing with a wrench in a parking lot at 6 a.m.
The closure story is similar. Thule's listing describes a SlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions that automatically locks the lid in place and indicates when the box is closed securely. Separating "locked" from "latched" is the detail worth paying for here, because an unlatched lid at highway speed is the failure mode that ends road trips. The listing also describes a wing-shaped profile with a dynamic, forward-leaning nose for reduced drag and fuel efficiency, and a sturdy lid design with a wide handle for smooth opening and closing with just one hand. Both of those are manufacturer characterizations, not figures anyone verified here.
What the supplied record does not give you is a load rating, a box weight, exterior dimensions, or a minimum crossbar spread. That is a real gap for a 21 cubic foot carrier, because the empty box weight counts against your vehicle's roof load limit before a single duffel goes in. Get those numbers from Thule's own fit guide and your vehicle manual before you buy.
Pros
- Published 21 cubic feet of volume with locks included, per the listing.
- PowerClick quick-mount system with a torque indicator that clicks at correct mounting.
- SlideLock separates locking from opening and indicates a secure close.
- Wing-shaped, forward-leaning nose profile that the manufacturer ties to reduced drag and fuel efficiency.
- Ecosystem of accessories listed as available: interior box light, protective box liner, and storage cover.
- The supplied listing record does not state a load capacity, empty weight, or exterior dimensions.
- The interior light, liner and storage cover are described as available accessories rather than included items.
- If you are shopping generic replacement hardware, note that one universal clamp kit in this article explicitly states it is not suited for Thule car racks.
Verdict: Buy this if your priority is a 21 cubic foot box with included locks and a mounting system that tells you when it is right, and you are willing to confirm weight and fit numbers with Thule before ordering.
Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier with Dual-Side Opening — Best for maximum published volume for bulky, lightweight family cargo
Twenty-six cubic feet is the biggest published number in this roundup, and the listing pairs it with a 150 lbs load capacity. Look, that combination tells you exactly what this box is for: sleeping bags, pillows, camp chairs, duffels of clothes, pool noodles. Bulk, not density. Fill 26 cubic feet with books or canned food and you will blow past 150 lbs long before the lid closes.
The construction is described as high-grade ABS+PC composite, rugged and impact-resistant, with the seller crediting it for withstanding harsh weather and protecting contents from rain, snow, dust and UV rays. Treat that as a seller's material claim rather than an independently verified weather rating. Access is dual-side, and the listing gives an unusually concrete detail: the lid opens wide at 13.4 inches and stays in place with strong support arms. That published opening height is genuinely useful when you are trying to slide a large soft bag in from a step stool.
Security is a central locking system where the keys can only be removed when all locking points are fully secured, which is the same design philosophy as the three-point systems on the smaller boxes here. Installation is described as tool-free, with mounting brackets engineered to fit most factory-installed and aftermarket roof racks, including round, square, and aerodynamic bars. "Most" is doing work in that sentence. Measure your crossbar width and spread first.
Pros
- Largest published capacity in this article at 26 cubic feet.
- Highest published load rating here at 150 lbs.
- Published lid opening of 13.4 inches with support arms holding it open.
- Dual-side opening for loading from either side of the vehicle.
- Tool-free bracket system described as fitting round, square and aerodynamic bars.
- The 150 lbs rating spread over 26 cubic feet is roughly 5.8 lbs per cubic foot, so dense cargo hits the limit well before the box is full.
- The supplied record does not state exterior dimensions or the empty weight of the box, both of which you need to check against your roof load limit.
- "Fits most roof racks" is a compatibility claim from the listing, not a confirmed fit for your specific vehicle.
Verdict: This is the pick when raw volume is the constraint and your load is bulky rather than heavy, and when you have already confirmed your crossbar spread and roof load limit.
Below the XXL Threshold: The Rest of the Supplied Lineup
These are legitimate products with published specs. None of them reaches 17 cubic feet, so none of them belongs in the headline comparison. They are here because some readers land on an XXL search and then discover their roof, budget or garage height says otherwise.
Rooftop Cargo Box, 15.5 Cubic Ft, for Family Travel and Road Trips, Grey is the closest step-down, listed with 130 lb capacity, ABS plastic and PMMA construction, dual-sided opening, a three-point locking mechanism where keys release only when all lock points are engaged, and tool-free universal brackets for round, square or aerodynamic bars. One caveat you should know: the same feature bullet describes both 14 cubic feet and 15.5 cubic feet of storage. That is an unresolved conflict in the listing text, not something to average out, so confirm the actual volume with the manufacturer before buying on capacity. Check Price on Amazon
Rooftop Cargo Box, 13 Cubic Ft, for Family Travel and Road Trips, Black, Rooftop Cargo Box,for Family Travel and Road Trips, 13 Cubic Ft, White and Rooftop Cargo Box, for Family Travel and Road Trips, 13 Cubic Ft, Grey publish identical feature sets: 13 cubic feet of storage, 130 lb capacity, impact-resistant ABS plastic and PMMA, dual-sided access that stays open for loading, a three-point locking system, and universal brackets that install in minutes with no tools. At 130 lbs across 13 cubic feet, these give you the highest weight allowance per cubic foot of any box here that publishes both numbers, which suits families packing denser gear into a smaller shell. Pick by color and by which listing is available. Black: Check Price on Amazon. White: Check Price on Amazon. Grey: Check Price on Amazon.
13 Cubic Feet Rooftop Cargo Carrier Box, Heavy Duty Hard Shell Roof covers the same volume from a different seller, listed as sturdy ABS and PMMA with a 130 lbs capacity, a keyed security lock, dual-sided opening, and compatibility with round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars. The listing also claims a sleek aerodynamic design to reduce drag and noise, which is a design characterization rather than a measured figure. Check Price on Amazon
INNO GEAR CARRY Matte Black, Cargo Box, 6 cu ft with Large Casters and Carry Handle is the outlier and the most interesting design in the group. At 6 cu ft it is a fraction of the XXL boxes, but it is the only carrier here whose listing describes wheels and a carry handle so the loaded box rolls to your destination, along with durable ABS plastic, protected large rubber corners, and inside straps. Two things to understand: it is installable from one side and locks with levers on a Quick base that is sold separately, and it is described as made in Japan. If you were hoping for an 18 cu ft roof box, this is not it, but for ski gear or a single-purpose kit that lives in the garage between trips, the wheels are a genuinely different value proposition. Check Price on Amazon
Mounting Hardware in This Research Pool
Neither of these is a cargo box. They are replacement clamp kits, and they only matter if your box's original hardware is lost or damaged. Fit is decided by millimeters, so read the numbers.
4 Pcs Roof Box U-Bolt Clamps, Upgraded Rooftop Cargo Carrier Rack Bolts publishes an inner width of 85mm (3.34in) and 98mm (3.8in) spacing between thread centers, and ships with 4 metal U-bolt clamps, 4 plastic back plates, 4 rubber gaskets, 8 heavy lock nuts, 2 bandages, and 1 set of hole sealing stickers. Check Price on Amazon
A ABSOPRO 4 PCS Universal Roof Box U Bolt Clamps Rooftop Cargo Carrier Rack Bolts 83mm Internal Width publishes an 83mm (3.27in) inner width, 90mm (3.54in) center-to-center thread spacing, and 7.5mm (0.3in) screw diameter, usable for luggage racks up to 80mm wide, and the listing explicitly states it is not suited for Thule car racks. The kit contains 4 iron bolts, 4 rubber washers, 4 plastic support boards, 8 heavy lock nuts, 2 bandages and 1 black sticker. Check Price on Amazon
A note that should be obvious but isn't always: generic hardware that physically fits is not the same as hardware approved by your box's manufacturer. If your box came with a torque spec or a proprietary clamp, follow the manufacturer's instructions rather than improvising. See our roof rack crossbar compatibility guide for how to measure bar width and spread before ordering anything.
What to Look For in an XXL Roof Box for an SUV
- Two limits, not one. Volume and weight are separate ceilings. A box can publish 26 cubic feet and 150 lbs at the same time, and the weight ceiling usually arrives first with anything denser than clothing.
- Three more limits above that. Your vehicle's roof load limit, your crossbar system's rating, and the carrier's own rating each apply independently, and the empty box counts against every one of them. Do not substitute a vehicle payload figure for a missing carrier rating.
- Crossbar spread and bar shape. Listings here describe fitment for round, square and aerodynamic bars, but a phrase like "fits most roof racks" is a seller claim, not a fit confirmation for your car.
- How the lid closes and locks. Systems that only release the key when every lock point is engaged, like the three-point mechanisms and central locking described on these listings, turn locking into a closure check.
- Which side it opens. Dual-sided opening lets you load from the curb, which matters more than it sounds like on a street-parked trip.
- Published mounting method. Tool-free brackets and click-confirmed torque indicators reduce the odds of an under-tightened clamp, though they never remove the need to re-check hardware on a long drive.
- Garage and clearance reality. None of the supplied records state exterior height or length, so measure your garage door and get those dimensions from the manufacturer before ordering an XXL shell.
How We Research
This website does not run a lab, a test track or a garage. For this article, every specification was pulled from Amazon Creators API verified product records and the product listing feature bullets published on each listing, all retrieved on 2026-09-11. Where a listing publishes a number, that number is attributed to the listing. Where two numbers in the same listing disagree, as with the 14 versus 15.5 cubic foot bullet, the conflict is reported rather than resolved. Where a spec is simply not present in the supplied record, such as a load rating for the Thule box, this page says so instead of filling the gap from memory.
We also cross-check the cargo-carrier category against public safety resources: the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission publishes consumer product safety information and recall notices, and USA.gov hosts federal consumer protection guidance. Checking those before a purchase costs nothing.
Recommendation by Use Case
Maximum volume for bulky gear: the Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier with Dual-Side Opening, on the strength of its published 26 cubic feet, 150 lbs load capacity and 13.4 inch lid opening. Check Price on Amazon
Confidence in mounting and closing on long highway trips: the Thule Motion 3 XXL Rooftop Cargo Box, 21 Cubic Feet, for its published 21 cubic feet, included locks, PowerClick torque indicator and SlideLock secure-close indication. Check Price on Amazon
Denser cargo in a smaller shell: any of the 13 cubic foot boxes, which publish 130 lb capacity against 13 cubic feet, the highest weight-per-cubic-foot allowance among boxes here that publish both figures.
Gear that needs to move after you park: the INNO GEAR CARRY Matte Black, whose listing describes large casters and a carry handle plus inside straps, keeping in mind its 6 cu ft size and the separately sold Quick base.
Final Verdict
If the number in your search bar is 17 cubic feet or higher, this comes down to two boxes and one honest question about what you pack. Choose the Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier with Dual-Side Opening when you are fighting for space with light, bulky loads, because 26 cubic feet and a 150 lbs rating is the most volume in this group. Choose the Thule Motion 3 XXL Rooftop Cargo Box, 21 Cubic Feet when the mounting and closure hardware is what you want to trust, because the PowerClick torque indicator and the SlideLock secure-close indication are the only published mechanical confirmation features in this lineup.
And whichever you pick, treat the roof as a system: confirm your vehicle's roof load limit, your rack's rating and the carrier's own rating separately, with the empty box counted in each. See also our guide to packing a roof box for a family road trip.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier, at a published 26 cubic feet of storage space with a 150 lbs load capacity. The Thule Motion 3 XXL Rooftop Cargo Box is next at a published 21 cubic feet.
Is there an 18 cu ft roof box here?
No. The published capacities in this research pool are 26, 21, 15.5, 13 and 6 cubic feet, so nothing lands exactly at 18. If 18 cubic feet is your target, the 21 cubic foot Thule box is the nearest option above it and the 15.5 cubic foot box is the nearest below.
Does a bigger box mean I can carry more weight?
Not proportionally. The 26 cubic foot box publishes 150 lbs and the 13 cubic foot boxes publish 130 lbs, so nearly double the volume buys 20 more pounds of allowance. Your real ceiling is whichever comes first among the carrier's rating, your crossbar rating and your vehicle's roof load limit, all of which include the weight of the empty box.
Will an XXL box fit my SUV's factory crossbars?
These listings state fitment for round, square and aerodynamic bars, and the 26 cubic foot listing says its brackets are engineered to fit most factory-installed and aftermarket roof racks. That is a seller compatibility claim. Measure your bar width and the spread between bars, then confirm against the manufacturer's fit data for the exact model.
Do these boxes include locks?
The Thule Motion 3 XXL listing states that locks are included. The 13 and 15.5 cubic foot boxes describe a three-point locking system in which keys can only be removed when all points are engaged, and the 26 cubic foot box describes a central locking system with the same key-release behavior.
Can I use universal U-bolt clamps on a Thule box?
The A ABSOPRO 4 PCS Universal Roof Box U Bolt Clamps listing states plainly that it is not suited for Thule car racks. The other kit here publishes an 85mm inner width with 98mm thread-center spacing but does not address Thule compatibility in the supplied record. When in doubt, use manufacturer-approved hardware.
How weatherproof are these cargo boxes?
The listings make material-based claims: ABS plastic with PMMA on the 13 and 15.5 cubic foot boxes, described as protecting gear from rain, snow, wind and sun exposure, and ABS+PC composite on the 26 cubic foot box, described as protecting valuables from rain, snow, dust and UV rays. Those are seller descriptions, not independently verified ingress ratings, and none of the supplied records states a sealing standard.
Sources & Methodology
No one at this website mounted, loaded, weighed or drove with any carrier on this page, and there is no lab behind it. What sits behind every number here is close reading of the Amazon Creators API verified product records and the product listing feature bullets for each ASIN, retrieved 2026-09-11, with each published figure attributed to the listing that publishes it and each gap named as a gap rather than guessed at. For roof boxes specifically, that kind of spec reading is enough to tell you which carriers publish real XXL volume, how their volume and weight ceilings relate, and what locking and mounting hardware each seller documents. It is not enough to tell you how a given box behaves at 75 mph in crosswinds, so pair this with your vehicle's roof load documentation and the manufacturer's fit guide before you buy.