Review at a Glance
| Price | |
|---|---|
| Best For | Families needing high-volume roof storage with rear access, on square, round or most factory crossbars within the stated spacing window |
| Capacity | 18 cubic feet (510 L) internal cargo capacity |
| Max load | 100 pounds (45 kg) |
| Pros | Large stated volume; rear opening keeps loading away from traffic; tool-free mounting hardware; lock secures contents and the box to the rack; UV-resistant ABS shell |
| Limitations | 100 lb cap is low relative to the 510 L volume, so the box fills before it maxes out with dense cargo; crossbar spacing must fall between 23 5/8 and 29 3/4 in; 63 in length demands a clearance check for hatches and garages |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
This website does not do hands-on testing. Everything below comes from reading the published listing specifications closely and working out what they mean for a real buyer with a real roof and a real crossbar spread.
No star rating is shown here because the supplied product record does not include an aggregate customer rating or review count.
- 18 cubic foot (510 L) internal cargo capacity
- Made from durable UV-resistant ABS material
Quick Picks
| Product | Stated capacity | Stated weight limit | Opening | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black | 18 cu ft (510 L) | 100 lb (45 kg) | Rear | Check Price on Amazon |
Only one product has a supplied record for this page, so there is one row. A comparison table with invented competitors would be worse than no table at all.
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black is a hardshell roof box the retailer listing rates at 18 cubic feet (510 L) of internal cargo capacity, built from UV-resistant ABS, with a rear opening, tool-free mounting hardware, and a key and lock that secures both the contents inside and the box to the rack. [S3]
The published exterior dimensions are 63 x 38 x 19 inches (160 x 96.5 x 48 cm), the crossbar spacing window is 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 inches (60 to 75.5 cm), and the maximum weight capacity is 100 pounds (45 kg). The listing says it fits SportRack Rack Systems, square bars, round bars and most factory racks, with a fit guide check.
Here's the thing: those five numbers decide almost everything about whether this box works for you. Not the marketing. The numbers.
Key Features and Specifications
| Specification | Published figure | What it means for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Internal cargo capacity | 18 cu ft (510 L) | Volume-first design. Bulky, light gear is the natural fit. |
| Max weight capacity | 100 lb (45 kg) | The ceiling arrives fast with dense cargo. Roughly 5.6 lb per cubic foot before you hit the limit. |
| Exterior dimensions (LxWxH) | 63 x 38 x 19 in (160 x 96.5 x 48 cm) | A 63-inch footprint that needs garage, hatch and sunroof clearance checked before purchase. |
| Crossbar spacing | 23 5/8 - 29 3/4 in (60 - 75.5 cm) | A hard compatibility gate. Outside this window, do not mount it. |
| Shell material | UV-resistant ABS | A rigid thermoplastic shell the manufacturer describes as UV-resistant. |
| Opening | Rear | Load and unload from the back of the vehicle rather than the roadside. |
| Mounting | Tool-free hardware | Install and remove without reaching for a toolbox. |
| Security | Includes key and lock | Locks contents in the box and the box to the rack. |
| Bar compatibility | SportRack systems, square bars, round bars, most factory racks | Broad, but the listing explicitly says to check the fit guide. |
The volume-to-weight ratio is the story
Do the arithmetic. 100 pounds spread across 18 cubic feet works out to about 5.6 pounds per cubic foot before you reach the stated ceiling. That is not a flaw so much as a design intent: this is a box for sleeping bags, duffels, ski gear, camp chairs, strollers and puffy winter coats, not for tool chests, bottled water or books.
If your roof-top load is dense, you will hit the manufacturer's 100 lb figure with a fraction of the space still empty. Plan the packing list around weight, not around how much room is left.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
The supplied record gives specifications, not performance results. Nobody here has loaded, driven, weather-exposed or timed this box, so what follows is inference from the published figures and is clearly labelled as such.
- Rear loading likely favors hatchbacks, SUVs and wagons. The manufacturer positions the rear opening as easy access away from traffic. In practice that suggests you stand behind the vehicle rather than in a live lane at a rest stop, which is a genuine safety-adjacent convenience. Whether the open lid clears a raised tailgate depends on your specific vehicle and roof height, and that clearance is not something the listing specifies.
- A 19-inch height is the aerodynamic and clearance variable. The published height is 19 inches (48 cm), which sits on top of whatever your crossbars add. The listing does not publish drag, fuel-economy or noise figures, so any claim about wind roar or mpg penalty here would be invented. Measure your total loaded height against your garage and any parking structure you use.
- Tool-free mounting suggests seasonal on-and-off is realistic. The listing describes the hardware as tool-free for easy installation and removal. That points to a box you can pull off after ski season without a socket set. It does not establish that one person can lift a 63-inch box alone, and the supplied record does not state the box's own weight, so treat removal as a two-person job unless the manufacturer's instructions say otherwise.
- The lock covers two jobs. The included key and lock secures the contents in the box and the box to your rack. That is theft deterrence as published; it is not a claim of forced-entry resistance, and the record does not state a security certification.
Build Quality and Design
The shell is described as durable UV-resistant ABS. ABS is a rigid thermoplastic, and UV resistance is the property that matters most for a part that lives on a roof in direct sun. What the supplied listing does not state: wall thickness, whether the shell is single or dual-wall, the lid seal design, hinge count, or a warranty length. Those are real gaps, and guessing at them would not help you.
The geometry tells you something, though. At 63 x 38 x 19 inches, this is a wide, relatively low box rather than a narrow, tall one. A 38-inch width on a typical roof leaves less room beside the box for a bike tray or kayak saddle than a narrow carrier would. If you plan to run a roof box alongside another carrier, measure your usable bar length first.
The stated spacing range of 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 inches is narrower than some owners expect. Many factory crossbars sit outside that window. Measure center-to-center between your bars before you order, and use the manufacturer's fit guide rather than assuming "most factory racks" includes yours.
Safety and Load Limits: Read This Before You Buy
Every roof load has to satisfy several separate limits at the same time, and the lowest one wins.
- The box's own rating. The manufacturer rates this box at 100 pounds (45 kg) maximum weight capacity.
- Your crossbar and rack system rating. Set by the rack manufacturer, not by this listing.
- Your vehicle's roof load limit. Set by the automaker in the owner's manual. Vehicle payload is not a substitute for a missing roof rating.
For general guidance on product safety recalls and consumer protection, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission [S1] and USA.gov's consumer protection resources [S2] are the appropriate starting points.
And the obvious one: never drive with the lid open or unlatched. If a latch, lock or mounting clamp behaves oddly, contact SportRack or an approved service point rather than improvising a fix from a listing bullet.
Value for Money
Prices move, so check the current price on Amazon before deciding. What the specifications let you judge is what you are paying for.
You are paying for volume and access convenience. 18 cubic feet (510 L) is a large stated capacity, and the rear opening plus tool-free hardware are convenience features the manufacturer names explicitly. You are not paying for a published warranty length, a stated shell thickness or an independent security rating, because the supplied listing does not include those.
Who Should Buy This
Buy it if:
- Your crossbars measure between 23 5/8 and 29 3/4 inches center-to-center, confirmed with a tape measure and the manufacturer's fit guide.
- Your cargo is bulky and light: camping bedding, ski and snowboard gear, duffels, kids' equipment. The 18 cu ft volume is the point.
- You want to load from behind the vehicle rather than from the roadside, which the rear opening is designed for.
- You expect to remove the box seasonally and value the tool-free mounting hardware.
- You want a lock included rather than sourced separately; the key and lock secure both the contents and the box to the rack.
- Your load is dense. The 100 lb (45 kg) ceiling is the constraint, not the space.
- Your crossbar spacing falls outside the published 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 inch window.
- You need to share the roof with a bike tray or kayak mount and cannot spare a 38-inch-wide footprint.
- Your garage clearance is tight. A 19-inch box on top of crossbars on top of your roof adds up fast.
How We Research
This website does not perform hands-on or laboratory testing, and it never claims to. For this page, the research consisted of reading the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B00BCLL8C0 and each of the product listing feature bullets published for it, retrieved on 11 September 2026, then working through the numbers for consistency and practical consequence.
That means checking the capacity figure against the weight limit, the exterior dimensions against the crossbar spacing window, and the compatibility bullet against the listing's own instruction to consult a fit guide. Where the listing publishes no figure, this review says so rather than filling the gap.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does the SportRack Vista XL hold?
The manufacturer lists 18 cubic feet (510 L) of internal cargo capacity with a maximum weight capacity of 100 pounds (45 kg). Volume and weight are separate limits, and dense cargo will reach the 100 lb figure long before the box is full.Will the SportRack Vista XL fit my roof rack?
The listing says it fits SportRack Rack Systems, square bars, round bars and most factory racks, and directs buyers to check the fit guide. The published crossbar spacing requirement is 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 inches (60 to 75.5 cm) center-to-center, so measure your bars before ordering.Does the SportRack Vista XL open from the rear?
Yes. The listing describes a rear opening for easy access away from traffic, meaning you load and unload from behind the vehicle rather than from the roadside. Whether the lid clears your specific raised tailgate is not specified in the listing.Is the SportRack Vista XL lockable?
The product includes a key and lock that secures the contents in the box and the box to your rack. The supplied listing does not state a security certification or any forced-entry resistance rating, so treat it as theft deterrence rather than a safe.What is the SportRack Vista XL made of?
The manufacturer describes it as made from durable UV-resistant ABS material. The supplied listing does not state the shell's wall thickness or whether it uses single or dual-wall construction.How hard is it to install?
The listing specifies tool-free mounting hardware for easy installation and removal, which points to seasonal on-and-off without tools. The supplied record does not state the box's own weight, so plan on help handling a 63-inch shell and follow the manufacturer's instructions for the actual mounting sequence.Does it come in colors other than black?
The supplied product record covers the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black. Other finishes are not described in the information supplied here.Final Verdict
Buy the SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black if your gear is bulky and light and your crossbars measure inside the published 23 5/8 to 29 3/4 inch spacing window. That is the honest, specification-grounded recommendation, and it hinges on two numbers you can verify yourself with a tape measure and a bathroom scale.
The 18 cubic foot (510 L) capacity paired with a 100 pound (45 kg) limit tells you exactly what this box is for: family road-trip volume, not dense freight. The rear opening and tool-free hardware are the convenience features the manufacturer names, and the included key and lock mean you are not buying security separately.
What you cannot conclude from the supplied listing is warranty length, shell thickness, empty weight or aerodynamic penalty. Those matter, and they are unstated here. Confirm fit and the box's own weight against your vehicle's roof load limit and your rack's rating before you order.
If you are still deciding between a hardshell box and a soft bag, our guide to roof cargo carriers walks through the tradeoffs, and crossbar compatibility covers how to measure spacing correctly.
Sources and Methodology
Nothing on this page was physically or laboratory-tested. This website owns no test rig, mounted no box to a roof and drove nothing; the analysis is a close reading of the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B00BCLL8C0 and its published product listing feature bullets, retrieved 11 September 2026, cross-checked for internal consistency between the capacity, weight, dimension and crossbar-spacing figures.
For a roof cargo box, that kind of specification reading answers the questions that actually block a purchase: whether it fits your bars, how much weight the manufacturer permits, and what the volume is realistically for. It cannot answer how the shell behaves after several winters, how loud it is at highway speed, or how the latches age, and this page does not pretend otherwise.