As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Stated Capacity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thule Motion 3 XL LowTitan Roof Box with GoPack Duffel Set Bundle | Long family road trips with packing bags included | Not stated in the supplied listing | |
| Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box | Weekend escapes and ski gear | 16 cubic ft / 450 litres | |
| INNO ROOF Box 466 Black 18 cu ft | Maximum volume from a Japanese-made box | 18 cu ft | |
| Thule Motion 3 LTitan Roof Box with GoPack Duffel Set Bundle | Aero-focused buyers who want organized duffels | Not stated in the supplied listing | |
| INNO ROOF Gear CASE BRM720MBK Matte Black 11.5 cu ft | Height-restricted garages and parking structures | 11.5 cu ft |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Premium roof boxes are one of the few car accessories where the spec sheet genuinely tells you most of what you need to know. Capacity, lid access, the mounting mechanism, the shell material — those four things decide whether a box is a joy or a weekly annoyance. This roundup reads the published listing data for ten current hard-shell cargo boxes closely and tells you which buyer each one actually fits.
Nothing here was handled, mounted or driven. This website does not do product research, and every claim below traces back to the manufacturer or retailer listing it came from. What you get instead is a careful reading of what each brand publishes — and, just as importantly, an honest note where a listing stays silent.
A quick framing note before the picks: "premium" in this category usually means a branded mounting system with a torque or closure indicator, a dual-side lid, and a shell material the manufacturer names explicitly. Several boxes here hit all three. A couple hit one.
- SlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions automatically locks the lid in place and indicates when the Motion 3 XL roof box is securely closed
- PowerClick quick-mount system features an integrated torque indicator that "clicks" when properly mounted, ensuring fast and secure fitting of the roof box
- LARGE CAPACITY ROOF CARGO BOX: INNO PHANTOM 466 is an 18 cu ft roof cargo box designed for carrying travel gear, outdoor equipment, skis, snowboards, and other bulky cargo on the
- DUAL-SIDE OPENING FOR EASY LOADING: This rooftop cargo carrier features dual-side opening access, allowing the cargo box to be opened from either the right or left side of the
- SlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions automatically locks the lid in place and indicates when the Motion 3 L roof box is securely closed
- PowerClick quick-mount system features an integrated torque indicator that "clicks" when properly mounted, ensuring fast and secure fitting of the roof box
- [ROOF GEAR CASE]Rugged design for high durability. Low profile with square design for larger capacity. Side handle for easy opening / closing and carring
- [Lowdown] The height is designed lowdown considering parking in a multi-story parking lot. For example, in the case of the Jimny with this cargo box on it, the total height is
- A simple, durable roof box built for commuting, day trips, and weekend escapes
- 400 litres of cargo space and a 75 kg load capacity for luggage, gear, skis and snowboards. Secure, tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached
- Boasting a massive 26 cubic feet of storage space and a 150 lbs load capacity, this rooftop box provides ample room for luggage, camping gear, and sports equipment
- Crafted from high-grade ABS+PC composite material, this cargo box is rugged, impact-resistant, and built to withstand harsh weather. Its shiny finish ensures long-lasting
- [ROOF GEAR CASE]Rugged design for high durability. Low profile with square design for larger capacity. Side handle for easy opening / closing and carring
- [Lowdown] The height is designed lowdown considering parking in a multi-story parking lot. For example, in the case of the Jimny with this cargo box on it, the total height is
- Engineered for Extreme Durability & Protection: Crafted from high-strength, impact-resistant ABS composite material, this rooftop cargo box is built to withstand harsh weather
- Massive, Secure Storage Capacity: Achieve unparalleled cargo organization with a spacious 14cubic-foot interior. This versatile rooftop cargo carrier securely holds up to 150
Quick Comparison Table
| Product | Lid Access | Mounting System | Shell Material (as published) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thule Motion 3 XL LowTitan Roof Box with GoPack Duffel Set Bundle | SlideLock closure indication | PowerClick with torque indicator | Not stated in the supplied listing |
| Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box | Dual-side opening | Tool-free with torque indicator | ASA-ABS plastic |
| Thule Pulse 2 M Roof-Mounted Box | Dual-side opening | Tool-free with torque indicator | ASA-ABS plastic |
| INNO ROOF Box 466 Black 18 cu ft | Dual side opening | Memory mount system | Not stated in the supplied listing |
| Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box | Dual-side, 13.4 in lid opening | Tool-free assembly | ABS+PC composite |
What to Look For in a Premium Roof Box
A premium roof box earns its price through five things. Here they are, ranked by how much they will affect your ownership:
- A mounting system with feedback. Thule publishes a torque indicator that clicks when the box is safely attached on the Pulse 2 L and Pulse 2 M, and a PowerClick quick-mount with an integrated torque indicator on the Motion 3 bundles. INNO publishes a Memory Mount System on the ROOF Box 466 and the ROOF Gear CASE models. Feedback matters because a hand-tightened clamp is the part of this system most likely to be under-torqued.
- Lid access from both sides. Most boxes here publish dual-side opening; the two INNO ROOF Gear CASE models publish one-side opening but with a front-and-rear symmetrical design, so you choose which side opens at install time.
- A named shell material. Thule states ASA-ABS plastic on the Pulse 2 boxes and says it resists sun, scratches and weather. The 26 cu ft carrier lists ABS+PC composite and the VISRACK lists ABS composite. Where a listing does not name a material, treat that as unknown rather than inferior.
- Hatch clearance. This is the spec buyers forget. Thule says the Pulse 2 boxes sit forward on the roof for full trunk access with minimal risk of contact, and INNO claims the widest range to slide front on the ROOF Box 466.
- Locking behaviour. Several listings describe a safety lock where the key only comes out once the box is fully closed and locked — INNO on the WEDGE660 and ROOF Gear CASE, and the 26 cu ft carrier and VISRACK via central locking.
The Picks
Thule Motion 3 XL LowTitan Roof Box with GoPack Duffel Set Bundle — Best for long family road trips
Here's the thing about the Motion 3 XL bundle: you are buying a packing system, not just a shell. Thule's listing states the set includes four 75L duffels that fit inside the box, and that the duffel handles convert to backpack straps for carrying from car to destination. For a family that unloads at a rental cabin every night, that detail is worth more than another cubic foot of raw volume.
The closure story is the strongest part of the spec sheet. Thule describes a SlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions that automatically locks the lid in place and indicates when the box is securely closed, plus a PowerClick quick-mount system with an integrated torque indicator that clicks when properly mounted. Two independent confirmations — one for the lid, one for the clamps — is exactly what you want on a box that spends eight hours a day at highway speed.
Aerodynamically, Thule publishes a wing-shaped profile with a dynamic, forward-leaning nose that it says reduces drag and enhances fuel efficiency. Treat that as the manufacturer's design claim; the listing does not quantify the fuel saving, so do not budget for a specific mpg change.
Pros
- SlideLock automatically locks the lid and indicates secure closure
- PowerClick mount clicks at correct torque, removing guesswork
- Four 75L duffels included that fit the box
- Duffel handles convert to backpack straps
- The supplied listing does not state capacity in cubic feet or litres, shell material, or a load rating
- Bundling duffels raises the total price whether or not you need them
Thule Motion 3 LTitan Roof Box with GoPack Duffel Set Bundle — Best for aero-conscious drivers who still want the duffel set
The L version of the Motion 3 bundle publishes the same three headline systems as its bigger sibling: SlideLock lid locking with closure indication, PowerClick mounting with an integrated torque indicator, and four 75L duffels sized to fit the box. If you want Thule's current-generation hardware but the XL footprint looks like too much box for your roofline, this is the obvious shortlist entry.
Thule describes the shape as a wing-shaped profile with a dynamic, forward-leaning nose design that reduces drag and enhances fuel efficiency during travel. Worth reading carefully: that is a claim about design intent, and the listing attaches no percentage to it. Anyone promising you a specific mpg figure for a roof box is making it up.
The duffels are genuinely the differentiator against a bare box. Four 75L bags with handles that convert to backpack straps means you can pack at home, drop the bags in, and carry them straight into a hotel — no fishing loose items out of a box in a parking lot in the rain.
Pros
- Same SlideLock and PowerClick hardware as the XL bundle
- Four 75L duffels included, sized for the box
- Backpack-convertible duffel handles
- Forward-leaning aero nose per Thule's design description
- Capacity, weight and shell material are not stated in the supplied listing
- Smaller footprint than the XL bundle by model designation
Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box — Best for ski and snowboard hauls
The Pulse 2 L is the most transparently specified box in this roundup, and that alone earns it a lot of goodwill. Thule publishes 450 litres of cargo space and a 75 kg load capacity for luggage, gear, skis and snowboards. That is 16 cubic feet by the listing title, with a stated weight limit — a combination several competitors here simply do not disclose.
The 75 kg figure deserves attention, because it is the number people ignore. Skis are light; a box packed with boots, wet outerwear and tools is not. Plan against that 75 kg ceiling, then check it against your rack's rating and your vehicle's dynamic roof load, which are separate limits that the box listing cannot tell you.
Access and materials are well covered too. Thule lists a tool-free mounting system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached, dual-side access, and ASA-ABS plastic that it says resists sun, scratches and weather. The company also states the box sits forward on the roof for full trunk access with minimal risk of contact — the kind of packaging decision that keeps a hatch from meeting a shell.
Pros
- 450 litres and a stated 75 kg load capacity — rare clarity
- Torque-indicating, tool-free mounting
- Dual-side opening
- ASA-ABS shell rated by Thule against sun, scratches and weather
- Forward roof position for full trunk access
- Positioned by Thule for commuting, day trips and weekend escapes rather than the flagship tier
- 75 kg is a real ceiling on heavy gear loads
Thule Pulse 2 M Roof-Mounted Box — Best for smaller vehicles and sedan rooflines
The M is the Pulse 2 L's story in a smaller shell: Thule publishes 400 litres of cargo space and the same 75 kg load capacity, with the title listing 14 cubic feet. Same tool-free mounting with a click-confirming torque indicator, same dual-side access, same ASA-ABS plastic that Thule says resists sun, scratches and weather.
So the decision between M and L is purely 400 litres versus 450 litres of volume, since both carry the same published 75 kg limit. If your roofline is short or your crossbar spread is modest, the smaller box is the sane choice — 50 litres of extra volume is not worth a box that overhangs your windshield.
Thule positions the Pulse 2 line as simple and durable, built for commuting, day trips and weekend escapes. That framing is honest, and it is worth respecting: this is a well-specified workhorse rather than a hardware showcase.
Pros
- 400 litres with a stated 75 kg load capacity
- Torque indicator clicks when safely attached
- Dual-side opening for either-side loading
- ASA-ABS shell, per Thule, resists sun, scratches and weather
- 50 litres less volume than the Pulse 2 L for the same stated 75 kg limit
- Marketed by Thule for commuting and weekends rather than expedition loads
INNO ROOF Box 466 Black 18 cu ft — Best for maximum volume in the INNO range
INNO states that the ROOF Box 466 offers 18 cubic feet gross and calls it the largest volume cargo box in INNO lineups. That is the brand's own comparison within its own range — not a claim about the whole market, and I am not going to inflate it into one.
The more interesting spec is the mounting. INNO describes a Memory Mount System and claims the widest range to slide front for minimal risk of contact with the hatch. Read those together and the practical inference is clear: on vehicles where a long box normally fouls a rising tailgate, the extra forward adjustment range is the feature that makes 18 cubic feet usable rather than theoretical. Confirm the geometry against your own hatch before committing.
Finish details include a chrome emblem and handle, and the box uses dual side opening. INNO's marketing describes the Memory Mount System as the easiest installation and use of any cargo box on the market — that is the manufacturer's claim, and the supplied listing offers no independent comparison to support it.
Pros
- 18 cubic feet gross — the largest volume in INNO's lineup per the brand
- Memory Mount System for repeatable installs
- Widest forward slide range in the line for hatch clearance
- Dual side opening
- Chrome emblem and handle finish
- The supplied listing does not state a load capacity, weight or shell material
- "Easiest installation of any cargo box on the market" is a manufacturer claim with no supplied comparison behind it
INNO ROOF Gear CASE BRM720MBK Matte Black 11.5 cu ft — Best for low-clearance parking garages
This is the specialist of the group, and it is refreshingly specific about why. INNO says the height is designed low with multi-story parking in mind, and gives a worked example: on a Jimny with this cargo box fitted, total height is less than 2.1 m. That is an unusually concrete claim — and note the scope. It applies to that vehicle, not yours. Measure your own roof height and add the box.
Capacity is 11.5 cubic feet, which INNO says holds 4 snowboards or 6-8 skis. The box opens from one side only, but the front-and-rear symmetrical design means you can mount it either way round so it opens left or right, which recovers most of what a dual-side lid would give you in a driveway. A side handle doubles as a carry grip and lets you open the lid one-handed while gripping it.
The cleverest detail is the external lever clamp. INNO points out that a typical roof box puts the locking mechanism inside the box, eating loading space, and that moving it outside preserves a larger interior. Mounting is the Memory Mount System with a universal fit for aero, square, round and most factory cross bars, plus a safety lock where the key only comes out once the box is locked.
Pros
- Low-profile design aimed explicitly at multi-story parking
- 11.5 cubic feet, stated to hold 4 snowboards or 6-8 skis
- External lever clamp preserves interior loading space
- Symmetrical design lets you choose left or right opening
- Safety lock: key releases only once the box is locked
- One-side opening only, chosen at install time
- The 2.1 m figure applies to a Jimny example, not to your vehicle
- The supplied listing does not state a load capacity or shell material
INNO ROOF Gear CASE BRM720BG Matte Beige 11.5 cu ft — Best for the same low-profile job in a lighter finish
Mechanically this is the BRM720MBK in matte beige, and INNO publishes an identical feature set: 11.5 cubic feet rated for 4 snowboards or 6-8 skis, the low height designed around multi-story parking with the sub-2.1 m Jimny example, the external lever clamp that keeps the locking mechanism out of the loading space, and the Memory Mount System fitting aero, square, round and most factory cross bars.
So the choice is aesthetic, with one practical wrinkle worth raising honestly: the supplied listings do not state anything about how either finish behaves in sun or heat, so I am not going to invent a light-colour advantage. Pick the colour that matches your vehicle.
Everything else carries across: one-hand opening via the side handle, the front-and-rear symmetrical design that lets you choose which side the lid opens, and the safety lock that only releases the key once the box is locked.
Pros
- Matte beige finish for buyers who want a non-black box
- 11.5 cubic feet, stated for 4 snowboards or 6-8 skis
- Low-profile height aimed at parking structures
- External lever clamp maximizes usable interior
- Memory Mount System with universal crossbar fitment
- One-side opening, direction fixed at install
- No load capacity or shell material in the supplied listing
INNO WEDGE660 White 11 cu ft — Best for a low-profile white shell with a lifetime warranty claim
The WEDGE660 is the value-conscious INNO in this group, and its standout line is the warranty: the listing states a limited lifetime warranty. Very few boxes here publish any warranty term at all, so a stated lifetime limited warranty is a meaningful differentiator — read the actual terms, since "limited" is doing real work in that phrase.
Capacity is 11 cubic feet in a low-profile wedge shell with dual side opening. INNO describes a track design that makes it simple to adjust the box forward or back for hatch clearance, and says it provides a better seal against bad weather. That dual-purpose track is a smart bit of engineering: the same adjustment that keeps your tailgate from hitting the box also determines where it sits relative to your crossbars.
Fitment is broad — aero, square, round and most factory racks — and the safety lock only lets the key out once the box has been closed all the way. Installation is described as tool-free in the product title.
Pros
- Limited lifetime warranty stated on the listing
- 11 cubic feet in a low-profile wedge shape
- Dual side opening
- Track design adjusts forward or back for hatch clearance and improves the seal
- Fits aero, square, round and most factory racks
- 11 cubic feet is the smallest stated capacity in this roundup
- The supplied listing does not state a load capacity or shell material
Hard Shell Roof Cargo Box, 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier — Best for sheer stated volume
This one leads on numbers: 26 cubic feet of storage and a 150 lbs load capacity, per the listing. That is the largest stated capacity in this roundup and the highest stated weight limit among the boxes here that publish one. Before you get excited, note that 26 cubic feet on your roof is a large aerodynamic object, and neither the listing nor any source here quantifies the wind noise or fuel impact.
The seller lists ABS+PC composite as the shell material and describes it as rugged, impact-resistant and built to withstand harsh weather, protecting contents from rain, snow, dust and UV. Treat that as a seller description rather than independent certification — the listing does not cite a testing standard.
Usability specs are reasonably detailed. Dual-side opening with a 13.4 inch lid opening and support arms to hold it in place, tool-free assembly, brackets stated to fit most factory and aftermarket racks including round, square and aerodynamic bars, and a central locking system where keys release only when all locking points are secured.
A serious caution: 150 lbs of cargo plus the box's own weight must fit under your roof rack's rating and your vehicle's dynamic roof load limit. The box's rating does not override either, and the listing does not state the box's own weight, so you cannot do that arithmetic from this data alone.
Pros
- 26 cubic feet — the largest stated capacity here
- 150 lbs stated load capacity
- ABS+PC composite shell per the listing
- Dual-side opening with a 13.4 inch lid opening and support arms
- Central locking; keys release only when fully secured
- The listing does not state the box's own weight, so total roof load cannot be calculated from it
- Durability and weather claims are the seller's, with no cited standard
- A 26 cubic foot shell is a large object on any roofline
VISRACK Roof Cargo Box, Dual-Side Opening Design, 14 Cubic Feet Capacity — Best for buyers who want crossbar specs published up front
VISRACK does something most brands here do not: it publishes the mounting hole spread. The listing states a maximum distance between mounting holes of 38.58 inches and a minimum of 17.32 inches, and explicitly tells you to measure your bars before ordering. That is genuinely useful, because crossbar spacing is the number one reason a roof box purchase goes wrong.
On capacity, the listing states 14 cubic feet and a 150 lbs equipment capacity, with a central locking system that allows key removal only when the box is fully and securely closed. The shell is described as high-strength, impact-resistant ABS composite intended to shield gear from rain, sun and road debris — again, a seller description rather than a certified rating.
Access is dual-side opening, with the listing noting the lid opens wide on the passenger side and uses a sturdy support arm to hold it in place. Assembly and mounting are stated as tool-free, with compatibility claimed for most factory and aftermarket crossbars in round, square and aerodynamic styles.
Pros
- Publishes the crossbar hole spread: 17.32 to 38.58 inches
- 14 cubic feet with a stated 150 lbs capacity
- Dual-side opening with a support arm on the lid
- Central locking with key release only when fully closed
- Tool-free assembly and mounting
- Durability and fuel-efficiency claims come from the seller with no cited standard
- The listing does not state the box's own weight or any warranty term
How We Research
This website builds its recommendations from documentation, not from a garage. For this roundup, the research was: pulling each product's Amazon Creators API verified product record, reading every published product listing feature bullet for all ten ASINs, and comparing the stated figures — capacity in cubic feet and litres, load ratings in kilograms and pounds, mounting-hole spreads in inches, shell materials, lid and locking mechanisms — against one another where the same attribute was actually published for both products.
Where a brand does not publish a figure, this article says so rather than guessing. A missing load rating is unknown, not zero, and it is not evidence that the manufacturer never publishes one elsewhere. Manufacturer marketing claims — "easiest installation of any cargo box on the market", "reduces drag" — are attributed to the brand that made them, because none of them come with a cited test method in the supplied listings.
All product data here was retrieved on 2026-09-11.
Recommendation by Use Case
Best for winter sports: The Thule Pulse 2 L, because Thule publishes 450 litres of space and a 75 kg load capacity specifically for luggage, gear, skis and snowboards, plus dual-side access and a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached.
Best for family road trips with frequent unloading: The Thule Motion 3 XL LowTitan bundle, because the included four 75L duffels have handles that convert to backpack straps, and SlideLock indicates when the lid is securely closed.
Best for height-restricted parking: The INNO ROOF Gear CASE BRM720MBK, because INNO designed the height around multi-story parking and gives a concrete worked example of under 2.1 m total height on a Jimny.
Best for maximum stated volume: The 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier, at 26 cubic feet and a 150 lbs stated load capacity — subject to confirming your rack and vehicle roof limits first.
Best for buyers with unusual crossbar spacing: The VISRACK, because it publishes a mounting-hole range of 17.32 to 38.58 inches so you can check fit before you buy.
Best for a long warranty: The INNO WEDGE660, the one box here whose listing states a limited lifetime warranty.
Final Verdict
If I had to point one buyer at one box on the strength of the published evidence, it is the Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box. It is the only pick here that publishes capacity in litres, a load capacity in kilograms, a named shell material and a torque-confirming mount all at once — 450 litres, 75 kg, ASA-ABS, click-when-safe. In a category where half the listings go quiet on load ratings, that transparency is worth paying for.
For families, the Thule Motion 3 XL LowTitan Roof Box with GoPack Duffel Set Bundle is the better buy despite publishing less spec detail, purely because four 75L duffels that fit the box change how you pack and unpack.
And if volume is the whole point, the INNO ROOF Box 466 Black 18 cu ft at 18 cubic feet gross with the line's widest forward slide range is the one to size up against your hatch.
Whatever you choose: confirm the box fits your crossbars, confirm your rack's load rating, confirm your vehicle's dynamic roof load, and never drive with an unlatched lid.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much weight can a premium roof box hold?
It varies by model and you must check the specific box. Thule publishes a 75 kg load capacity for both the Pulse 2 L and the Pulse 2 M. The 26 Cu Ft Extra Large Rooftop Carrier and the VISRACK both state 150 lbs. Several other listings here do not state a load capacity at all. Whatever the box allows, your roof rack rating and your vehicle's dynamic roof load are separate limits that apply at the same time.
Is the Thule Motion 3 XXL available here?
Not in this roundup. The Thule Motion 3 models covered by the supplied evidence are the Motion 3 L bundle and the Motion 3 XL LowTitan bundle. Both publish the same SlideLock closure system and PowerClick torque-indicating mount, so the practical difference between them is size rather than hardware.
What is the difference between the Thule Pulse 2 L and Pulse 2 M?
Volume, essentially. Thule states 450 litres for the Pulse 2 L and 400 litres for the Pulse 2 M, with the same 75 kg load capacity on both. Both use tool-free mounting with a torque indicator, dual-side opening and ASA-ABS plastic. Choose the M if your roofline is short.
Do roof boxes hurt fuel economy?
Several manufacturers here claim their shapes reduce drag — Thule describes a wing-shaped profile with a forward-leaning nose on the Motion 3 bundles as reducing drag and enhancing fuel efficiency, and the VISRACK and 26 cu ft listings make similar aerodynamic claims. None of the supplied listings quantify a fuel-economy figure, so treat these as design claims rather than measured savings.
Will a roof box block my tailgate or hatch?
It can, which is why forward adjustment matters. INNO states the ROOF Box 466 has the widest range to slide front for minimal risk of contact with the hatch, and the WEDGE660 uses a track design that adjusts forward or back for hatch clearance. Thule says the Pulse 2 boxes sit forward on the roof for full trunk access with minimal contact risk. Confirm clearance on your own vehicle before loading.
What does a torque indicator actually do?
On the Thule boxes it gives you audible confirmation that the mount is tightened correctly. Thule describes a tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached on the Pulse 2 L and Pulse 2 M, and the PowerClick system with an integrated torque indicator that clicks when properly mounted on the Motion 3 bundles. It removes the guesswork from the one step most likely to be done wrong.
Can I fit skis in an 11.5 cubic foot box?
INNO states the ROOF Gear CASE BRM720MBK and BRM720BG, both at 11.5 cubic feet, hold 4 snowboards or 6-8 skis. Ski length and binding height still matter, so check your own equipment against the box's internal dimensions with the manufacturer before buying.
Sources & Methodology
Nobody at this website mounted, loaded or drove with any of these cargo boxes — there is no lab here and no test vehicle, and the recommendations above come entirely from reading documentation. What was done: each box's Amazon Creators API verified product record was retrieved on 2026-09-11, and every published product listing feature bullet was read in full so that capacities, load ratings, mounting-hole measurements, shell materials and locking descriptions could be lined up side by side, with gaps identified as gaps.
For roof boxes specifically, that kind of documentary comparison gets you a long way, because the decisive attributes — cubic feet, litres, kilograms, pounds, crossbar spread, whether the lid opens one side or both — are published numbers rather than subjective impressions. What it cannot tell you is how loud a given box is at 70 mph or how the latches feel after three winters; for those, seek out long-term owner accounts and the manufacturer's own fit guide for your exact vehicle. General consumer product safety resources are available from [S1] and [S2].
Related reading on this site: how to choose roof rack crossbars and rooftop cargo box safety basics.