Review at a Glance
| Price | |
|---|---|
| Capacity (manufacturer) | 14 cubic feet [S3] |
| Load rating (manufacturer) | 165 lbs [S3] |
| Crossbar compatibility (manufacturer) | 17" to 22.8" wide rack; crossbar width under 3.1", thickness under 1.0" [S3] |
| Best For | Families with an existing roof rack whose crossbar spread and bar profile fall inside the stated window, who want lockable, weather-protecting overflow storage |
| Not ideal for | Vehicles with no rack at all, racks outside the stated width window, or anyone needing a published wind-speed, warranty or exterior dimension figure before buying |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Last Updated: September 2026
Look, a hard-shell roof box is one of the few car accessories where the buying decision is settled almost entirely on paper before you ever touch the product. Either your crossbars fall inside the compatible window or they don't. Either the rated load covers what you plan to carry or it doesn't. This review reads the manufacturer's published listing for the Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell closely and tells you what those numbers imply for a real trip — without pretending anyone here bolted one to a roof.
This website does not do hands-on testing. Everything below comes from the published listing record for this exact ASIN, and where the record is silent, I say so instead of filling the gap.
No aggregate customer rating was supplied with this product record, so there is no star score printed here. A missing rating field is not a low rating — it simply isn't part of the information I was given.
- Perfect for Road Trip---Take the cargo box to the park, the beach, the sports field, or any place you need to store. Works on all vehicles with rack, suitable for cars, vans
- 14 Cubic Feet Cargo Box ---With the large capacity, the roof cargo box can help you securely carry 14 cubic feet worth of essentials, can increase vehicle cargo space without
Quick Picks
| Product | Manufacturer-stated capacity | Manufacturer-stated load | Stated crossbar fit | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell | 14 cubic feet [S3] | 165 lbs [S3] | 17"–22.8" wide rack [S3] | Check Price on Amazon |
Only one product record was supplied for this page, so this table has one row. I'd rather show you one honest row than pad it with competitors whose specifications I'd have to invent.
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell is a lockable, hard-sided roof box that the manufacturer rates at 14 cubic feet of storage and 165 lbs of load capacity [S3]. It mounts to an existing crossbar rack using four quick-connect anchors, and the lid opens from either side [S3].
That's the shape of the product. Now here's the thing most buyers get wrong: the headline number everybody shops on — 14 cubic feet — is the least decisive spec on the page. The decisive one is the fit window.
The manufacturer states the box suits vehicles with a rack, compatible with a 17" to 22.8" wide rack, where the crossbar width is less than 3.1 inches and the thickness is less than 1.0 inches [S3]. Three separate measurements, all of which must pass. Spread between your bars, the front-to-back width of each bar, and how tall each bar is in cross-section.
Go measure all three before you read another word of this. If your bar spread is 24 inches, nothing else in this review matters.
Who Goplus says it fits
The listing says it works on vehicles with a rack and is suitable for cars, vans and SUVs [S3], and separately that it suits round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars [S3]. Note the hedge in that last bullet — "most" aerodynamic bars, not all. Aero bars are exactly the profile most likely to blow past the 3.1-inch width limit, because a wide aerodynamic wing section is the whole point of that bar design. The two statements aren't contradictory; the numeric limits in the compatibility note are the ones that decide it.
Key Features and Specifications
Here is every specification the supplied listing record actually publishes for this exact ASIN, with nothing inferred added into the table.
| Specification | Manufacturer-published value |
|---|---|
| Storage volume | 14 cubic feet [S3] |
| Load capacity | 165 lbs [S3] |
| Shell material | ABS and PC [S3] |
| Compatible rack width | 17" to 22.8" [S3] |
| Max crossbar width | Less than 3.1 inches [S3] |
| Max crossbar thickness | Less than 1.0 inches [S3] |
| Opening | Dual-sided [S3] |
| Locking | Double-lock design with security key [S3] |
| Mounting hardware | 4 quick-connect anchors [S3] |
| Lid reinforcement | Metal lid stiffeners at the bottom [S3] |
| Bar types listed as suitable | Round, square, factory, most aerodynamic [S3] |
| Exterior dimensions | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| Empty weight of the box | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| Warranty length | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| Maximum rated speed | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
Those four "not stated" rows matter more than the marketing copy. An unstated exterior length is a real planning gap if you park in a height-restricted garage or a tight carport, and an unstated empty weight leaves you unable to do the arithmetic in the next section without calling Goplus.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
Let's turn the two headline numbers into something useful. Goplus rates the box at 14 cubic feet of volume and 165 lbs of load [S3]. Divide one by the other and you get roughly 11.8 lbs per cubic foot as the average density at which you'd hit the weight ceiling and the volume ceiling simultaneously.
That number is the single most practical thing on this page. Sleeping bags, duffels of clothing, pillows, camp chairs and pop-up tents are all well under 12 lbs per cubic foot, so a family packing soft goods will almost certainly run out of space before they run out of rated weight. Fill the same 14 cubic feet with tools, canned food, books, coolers or a wet tent and you can pass 165 lbs long before the box looks full. That is an inference from the two published figures, not something measured here — but it's the arithmetic every roof box owner ends up doing eventually.
The weight limit you actually have to respect
Critical caveat, and I'll be blunt about it: the manufacturer's 165 lbs figure [S3] is the carrier's own rating. It is not your car's roof limit, and it is not your rack's limit.
You have at least three ceilings stacked on top of each other — the vehicle's roof load limit from your owner's manual, the crossbar rack manufacturer's dynamic load rating, and the box's own 165 lbs rating [S3]. The lowest of the three governs. And the box's own empty weight plus the cargo both count against the vehicle and rack limits, which is why the missing empty-weight figure in the supplied listing information is a genuine inconvenience. Get that number from Goplus or from the box's packaging before you load to anywhere near a rack's stated ceiling.
Aerodynamics and noise
Goplus describes the design as sleek and aerodynamic, stating that it reduces drag and has less noise [S3]. Read that as a design intent claim from the seller, not a verified figure. The supplied listing information gives no drag coefficient, no decibel measurement and no comparison baseline, so there's nothing here to tell you how it compares with any other box or with bare crossbars. Any hard box on a roof changes airflow and fuel consumption; the listing doesn't quantify how much this one does.
Build Quality and Design
The shell is ABS and PC, which the manufacturer describes as sturdy material for long-lasting use, able to protect contents from exposure to the elements [S3]. ABS/polycarbonate is a common hard-shell combination, and the listing pairs it with a claim that the box is designed to withstand heavy use in different types of weather conditions [S3].
Honestly, that's a scope you should hold onto carefully. "Protects from exposure to the elements" and "designed to withstand different weather conditions" are seller claims about intent and materials [S3]. The supplied listing information does not include an ingress-protection rating, a seal specification, a UV test, or any third-party verification of water resistance. Material name alone does not establish weather performance — that's true of every roof box, not just this one.
Lid stiffeners and latching
The more interesting structural detail is the metal lid stiffeners at the bottom, which Goplus says makes the roof box more stable and safer [S3]. On a long hard lid, the failure mode people worry about is flex at highway speed — a reinforced lid section is a reasonable engineering answer to that, and it's a specific, checkable design choice rather than vague marketing.
Goplus also states there is a super latch security feature that ensures the lid is secure to its base [S3]. Again: a described feature, not a verified retention test.
Dual-side opening, with one firm rule
Opening from either side is genuinely useful on a family trip — you can unload from the curb instead of standing in traffic. Goplus states the dual-sided opening gives easy access on either side of the vehicle [S3], and adds an explicit instruction: do not open the openings on both sides at the same time [S3].
Follow that instruction exactly as written. Don't improvise around it, and never drive with a lid open or unlatched.
The Security Key and Lock System
The box uses a double-lock design for protecting valuables, with a security key [S3]. The detail worth flagging is the key-capture behaviour Goplus describes: the key can only be removed after the cover is closed and locked [S3].
That's a deliberate design. It means you physically cannot walk away with the key in your pocket while the lid is sitting unlocked, which removes one of the more common ways people lose cargo off a roof. It's a small thing that I'd count as a real point in the box's favour.
What it is not: theft-proof. A lock on a plastic roof box deters casual opportunists. The supplied listing information states no lock standard, cylinder rating or security certification, so treat the double-lock as "keeps honest people honest and keeps the lid shut," not as a safe. Don't leave laptops or camera bodies in it overnight in a motel lot.
Installation, As Described by the Manufacturer
Goplus lists 4 quick connect anchors for easy install [S3]. Four U-bolt-style anchor points is the conventional arrangement for a clamp-on box, and "quick connect" language suggests tool-light assembly, though the listing doesn't specify what tools, if any, are required.
I'll keep this section short on purpose, because the supplied listing information does not include the installation manual, torque values, anchor placement diagrams or a stated assembly time. Follow the instructions that ship in the box, not a procedure improvised from a product page. If an anchor won't seat properly on your bars, that's a fit question for Goplus — not something to solve with substitute hardware.
And once it's on: recheck the anchors after the first few miles, then at every fuel stop on a long drive. That's standard practice with any clamp-mounted roof load.
Value for Money
Check current price on Amazon before you weigh value — pricing on roof boxes moves with the season, and a static page is the worst place to read a dollar figure.
What I can tell you is where the value argument sits on specifications. You're getting a hard, lockable, dual-side-opening 14 cubic foot box rated to 165 lbs with reinforced lid stiffeners and four quick-connect anchors [S3]. That's a fairly complete feature set on paper: soft bags don't lock and don't hold their shape; cheaper hard boxes often open from one side only.
The offsetting reality is what the listing doesn't document — no stated warranty term, no exterior dimensions, no empty weight, no speed rating [S3 record silent on all four]. If you're the kind of buyer who wants a documented warranty and a published dimensional drawing before spending, that gap is a legitimate reason to pause and contact the manufacturer first.
Who Should Buy This
- You already have crossbars in the 17" to 22.8" spread [S3], with bars under 3.1 inches wide and under 1.0 inches thick [S3]. Measure, confirm, then buy. This is the whole ballgame.
- You haul bulky-but-light gear. Given the 14 cubic feet to 165 lbs ratio [S3], sleeping bags, duffels, strollers and camp bedding are where this box earns its keep.
- You unload curbside with kids around. The dual-sided opening [S3] means you're not standing in the road with an armful of luggage.
- You want the lid to stay locked without thinking about it. The key-capture lock that only releases after the cover is closed and locked [S3] is a quietly good piece of design.
Who should skip it
- No roof rack. The listing is explicit that the product suits vehicles with a rack [S3]. A cargo box is not a rack system, and nothing in the supplied information covers rack-free mounting.
- Wide aero bars. If your factory aero bar exceeds 3.1 inches front-to-back, the stated compatibility fails regardless of how much you like the box [S3].
- Dense-cargo haulers. 165 lbs [S3] disappears fast under tools, water or canned goods — and you still have your vehicle's own roof limit above it.
- Anyone needing a documented warranty or exterior footprint up front. Those figures aren't in the supplied listing information; ask Goplus directly.
How We Research
This site does not perform physical or laboratory testing, and no one here has installed, loaded or driven with this cargo box.
What I did instead: pull the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B07K75WXYJ, retrieved 11 September 2026, and read every product listing feature bullet it contains line by line [S3]. Then I cross-checked the numeric claims against each other — capacity against load rating, title compatibility range against the compatibility note — to see which specifications constrain a real purchase and which are marketing language. Where a field simply isn't present in that record, this review says so rather than substituting a plausible-sounding figure.
For general background on consumer product safety and recall information, buyers can consult the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission [S1] and USA.gov's consumer protection resources [S2].
Final Verdict
The Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell is, on its published specifications, a sensible family road-trip box for people who already own compatible crossbars — and an instant non-starter for people who don't. That's not a hedge; it's the actual structure of this purchase.
The specs I like: 14 cubic feet paired with dual-side opening and four quick-connect anchors [S3], metal lid stiffeners for the lid section [S3], and a lock that won't surrender its key until the cover is closed and locked [S3]. That last one is the detail I'd point to if someone asked what separates a thought-through box from a generic one.
The specs I'd want before committing: exterior dimensions, empty weight and warranty term, none of which appear in the supplied listing information. Call Goplus for those if your garage clearance or rack rating is tight.
My recommendation is conditional and I won't soften it: measure your crossbar spread, bar width and bar thickness against the 17"–22.8", under-3.1-inch and under-1.0-inch limits [S3]; confirm your vehicle's roof load limit in your owner's manual; then buy with confidence if all three pass. If any one of them fails, this isn't your box — and no amount of enthusiasm about 14 cubic feet changes that.
Frequently Asked Questions
What crossbar width does the Goplus roof box fit? The manufacturer states compatibility with a 17" to 22.8" wide rack, with crossbar width less than 3.1 inches and thickness less than 1.0 inches [S3]. All three measurements must pass. Goplus also lists round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars as suitable [S3] — note that "most" is the manufacturer's own wording for aero bars, and the numeric limits are what decide fit.
How much weight can the Goplus rooftop cargo carrier hold? Goplus rates it at 165 lbs [S3]. That is the carrier's own rating, not your vehicle's roof limit or your rack's rating. Check your owner's manual and your rack manufacturer's specification, count the empty weight of the box itself toward those limits, and load to whichever ceiling is lowest.
How does the Goplus cargo box security key work? The listing describes a double-lock design with a security key, and specifies that the key can only be removed after the cover is closed and locked [S3]. In practice that means the box enforces locking before you can pocket the key. The supplied listing information states no lock security standard or certification, so treat it as deterrence rather than theft-proof storage.
Can I open both sides of the Goplus roof box at once? No. Goplus explicitly instructs that you should not open the openings on both sides at the same time [S3]. Use one side at a time, and never drive with the lid open or unlatched.
Is the Goplus cargo carrier actually waterproof? The manufacturer describes the box as designed to withstand heavy use in different types of weather conditions and says the ABS and PC construction protects contents from exposure to the elements [S3]. Those are seller claims about materials and design intent. No ingress rating, seal specification or third-party verification appears in the supplied listing information, so pack anything moisture-sensitive in a dry bag as a precaution.
Do I need a roof rack to use this cargo box? Yes. Goplus states the product is suitable for vehicles with a rack and mounts using four quick-connect anchors [S3]. Nothing in the supplied listing information supports mounting to a bare roof.
Sources and Methodology
Nobody at this website has physically or laboratory-tested this cargo box — no roof was loaded, no highway miles were driven, and no water or wind exposure was carried out. This review is built by reading the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B07K75WXYJ and each of its product listing feature bullets, retrieved 11 September 2026, and reasoning from the numbers Goplus publishes: capacity against load rating, and the title's compatibility range against the more detailed compatibility note [S3].
For roof boxes specifically, that kind of documentary research settles the questions that actually decide the purchase — fitment, rated load, lock behaviour and access design — because those are all published figures rather than things you learn by feel. What it cannot settle is long-term durability, real-world seal performance or noise at speed, and this page doesn't pretend otherwise. For safety and recall context, the CPSC [S1] and USA.gov consumer protection resources [S2] are the appropriate independent references.