Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Rated Capacity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 36.4 Cubic Feet | Maximum rated cubic feet on this page | 36.4 cu ft | Check Price on Amazon |
| RoofPax 23 cft. Extra Waterproof Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag | Cars with no roof rack at all | 23 cu ft | Check Price on Amazon |
| Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell | Highest stated hard-shell load limit | 14 cu ft, 165 lbs | Check Price on Amazon |
| Rooftop Cargo Box | Locking box with three-point latching | 13 cu ft, 130 lbs | Check Price on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Value in rooftop storage comes down to one piece of arithmetic: how many cubic feet you get per dollar, and whether those cubic feet actually mount to the roof you already own. This page supplies the denominator for ten carriers — the rated capacity, the stated weight limit where the listing publishes one, and the mounting requirement printed on each listing — so you can drop the current price into the formula yourself. Every pick links straight to its Amazon page, because these listings change price often.
Here's the thing, though: a soft bag's "cubic feet" and a hard box's "cubic feet" do not appear to be measured the same way. That single detail decides whether a huge capacity number is a bargain or a mirage, so read the capacity math section before you start dividing.
- 20Cubic Feet - Carrying capacity - The whole point of the purchase us to provide additional cargo room, so it makes no point to buy one that is not big enough. the roof bag
- Roof bag fits all cars with or without roof rack,Soft Car Top Carrier - There is no ”Best Soft Car Top Carrier”. Instead, the best one is the one that satisfies your specific
- All-Weather Durability: Crafted from premium 1200D oxford and PVC, this waterproof rooftop cargo carrier protects against rain, snow, and dust; Built to last, it keeps your car
- Universal Fit for Vehicle: With extra door hooks, easily fits all vehicle types, including SUVs, sedans, and trucks; It works with or without roof racks, making it a versatile car
How to Work Out Cost Per Cubic Foot
Divide the current listed price by the carrier's rated cubic feet, then compare like with like. If a 20 cubic foot bag and a 13 cubic foot hard box carried the same price, the bag would be delivering roughly 54 percent more rated space per dollar — which is exactly why bags dominate any raw price-per-cubic-foot ranking.
Four steps, in order:
- Note the current price on the product page.
- Divide by the rated capacity published on that listing (not by a figure from a similar-looking model).
- Compare bags against bags and hard shells against hard shells, since the two categories quote volume differently.
- Only then check fit: bar spread, bar thickness, and every weight limit that applies to your vehicle and rack.
Why Bag Cubic Feet Look Cheaper Than Box Cubic Feet
Run the outer dimensions and the pattern jumps out. iBirdie lists 56 inches long, 45 inches wide and 25 inches high for 36.4 cubic feet — multiply those three numbers and you land on 36.4 cubic feet almost exactly. MIDABAO gives an overall bag size of 51.1 by 39 by 17 inches and calls that 20 cubic feet, which is again close to the raw outer-dimension product.
Now the hard shells. Auto Dynasty lists overall dimensions of 53 by 34 by 15 inches and a capacity of 11 cubic feet, even though that envelope multiplies out to roughly 15.6 cubic feet. Garvee lists a 54.3 by 31.5 by 13.4 inch box rated at 12 cubic feet (340L), against an envelope of about 13.3 cubic feet.
The reasonable inference: bag capacity figures track the outer envelope, while these hard-shell figures sit below it, as you would expect once shell thickness and tapered aerodynamic ends are subtracted. We cannot verify usable internal volume from the supplied listing information for any of these carriers, so treat the comparison as directional. Practically, it means a bag's cubic-foot advantage is real but smaller than the headline gap, and a bag full of soft duffels packs closer to its rated number than a box does.
Full Comparison
| Product | Type | Rated Capacity | Stated Load Limit | Mounting Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 36.4 Cubic Feet | Soft bag | 36.4 cu ft | Not stated in supplied listing | With or without roof rack, door hooks included |
| RoofPax 23 cft. Extra Waterproof Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag | Soft bag | 23 cu ft | Not stated in supplied listing | Rails, crossbars, racks, baskets or 4 door hook straps |
| iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 22.6 Cubic Feet | Soft bag | 22.6 cu ft | Not stated in supplied listing | With or without roof rack, door hooks included |
| MIDABAO 20 Cubic Waterproof Duty Car Roof Top Carrier-Car Cargo Roof Top Bag | Soft bag | 20 cu ft | Not stated in supplied listing | With or without roof rack, 8 straps total |
| iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 15.3 Cubic Feet | Soft bag | 15.3 cu ft | Not stated in supplied listing | With or without roof rack, door hooks included |
| Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell | Hard shell | 14 cu ft | 165 lbs | Rack 17 to 22.8 in wide; bars under 3.1 in wide, 1.0 in thick |
| 13 Cubic Feet Rooftop Cargo Carrier Box | Hard shell | 13 cu ft | 130 lbs | Round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars |
| Rooftop Cargo Box, 13 Cubic Ft, for Family Travel and Road Trips, Black | Hard shell | 13 cu ft | 130 lbs | Round, square or aerodynamic crossbars |
| Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier | Hard shell | 12 cu ft (340L) | 165 lbs | Vehicles equipped with a roof rack |
| Auto Dynasty Hard Shell Roof Top Mount Cargo Carrier Travel Luggage Box | Hard shell | 11 cu ft | 110 lbs | Max 13 in wide cross bar |
Prices are deliberately absent from the tables — check current price on Amazon for each and run your own division, because a single promotion reorders the entire value ranking.
iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 36.4 Cubic Feet — Best for the largest rated capacity on this page
Thirty-six point four cubic feet is the biggest rated number in this group, and iBirdie gets there with a 56 inch long, 45 inch wide, 25 inch high bag. That 45 inch width is the figure to respect: it is wider than the 39 inch MIDABAO bag and wider than any hard shell here, so it wants a genuinely broad roof. The shell is described as premium 1200D oxford with PVC, which iBirdie says resists rain, snow and dust.
On pure arithmetic this is the cheapest cubic foot in the roundup at any given price point, because nothing else here rates above 23 cubic feet. Whether you can use all of it is another question. The supplied listing information does not state a load limit for this bag, so the binding number becomes your vehicle's roof load rating and your rack's rating — look them up in the owner's manual before filling 36.4 cubic feet with anything dense.
Pros
- Highest rated capacity of any carrier on this page at 36.4 cubic feet
- 1200D oxford and PVC construction described as waterproof against rain, snow and dust
- Works with or without roof racks thanks to included extra door hooks
- Folds compactly for storage and ships with anti-slip mats plus heavy-duty straps
- The supplied listing information does not state a weight capacity, so the rack and roof limits govern
- 45 inch listed width is a lot of roof to cover; measure before ordering
- No lock is described in the supplied listing information, unlike the keyed hard shells here
Verdict: Buy this if raw cubic feet per dollar is the deciding metric and you have a wide roof plus bulky-but-light cargo like sleeping bags, tents and duffels.
RoofPax 23 cft. Extra Waterproof Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag — Best for vehicles with no roof rack
RoofPax rates this bag at 23 cubic feet and, more usefully, spells out four mounting paths: raised side rails, crossbars, roof racks, or baskets. If your car has none of those, the kit includes 4 patented door hook straps that fasten under the door's rubber seal gasket. RoofPax argues that routing straps through the cabin is dangerous because it can interfere with airbags and is illegal in some states — that is the brand's safety position, not an independent finding, but the reasoning is sound enough to take seriously.
The weatherproofing detail is where this listing goes beyond the category boilerplate. RoofPax describes two waterproof closing zippers, waterproof dual-seam technology and a water-repellent double coating, plus 10 elastic Velcro strap restraints to stop strap flapping. It also publishes an actual warranty structure: lifetime on zippers and 5 years on fabric durability, which is the most specific coverage stated by any listing here.
Pros
- 23 cubic feet rated capacity with a stated no-rack mounting method
- 4 patented door hook straps included, so cabin-routed straps are unnecessary
- Two waterproof zippers plus dual-seam and double-coating weatherproofing
- Lifetime zipper warranty and 5-year fabric warranty stated by the brand
- 10 elastic Velcro restraints included to control strap flap
- The supplied listing information does not state a weight capacity
- Claims such as "safest and most secure" come from RoofPax's own listing, not third-party verification
Verdict: The pick for a bare-roof sedan or crossover where a hard box simply cannot mount, and the published warranty terms are a real tiebreaker.
iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 22.6 Cubic Feet — Best for tall stacking on a narrower roof
This is the interesting one in iBirdie's lineup. It lists 46 inches long, 34 inches wide and 25 inches high for 22.6 cubic feet — the same footprint as the 15.3 cubic foot version, with the height raised from 17 inches to 25 inches. You buy volume vertically rather than horizontally.
That matters if your roof is short or your crossbars are close together. A 46 by 34 inch footprint asks less of the roof than the 56 by 45 inch version while still rating within about 0.4 cubic feet of the 23 cubic foot RoofPax. The tradeoff is frontal area: taller loads sit higher in the airstream, and the supplied listing information does not publish any drag or noise figure to quantify that.
Pros
- 22.6 cubic feet from a compact 46 by 34 inch footprint
- Same 1200D oxford and PVC material as the larger iBirdie bag
- Door hooks included for vehicles with or without roof racks
- Anti-slip mat included to protect paint
- 25 inch listed height means a tall profile; watch garage and drive-through clearance
- The supplied listing information does not state a weight capacity
Verdict: Choose this over the 36.4 cubic foot model when roof length or crossbar spread, not capacity, is your limiting factor.
MIDABAO 20 Cubic Waterproof Duty Car Roof Top Carrier-Car Cargo Roof Top Bag — Best for a strap-heavy tie-down setup
MIDABAO lists the bag at 51.1 by 39 by 17 inches for 20 cubic feet, and the low 17 inch height is the notable spec — it is the same height as iBirdie's 15.3 cubic foot bag, but spread wider and longer. A flatter bag keeps the load lower in the airstream, which is an aerodynamic argument the listing does not quantify but that follows from the geometry.
Securing hardware is generous on paper: 6 short tie straps and 2 long straps, described in a separate bullet as 6 wide straps plus 2 3M straps, with an anti-slip mat and a storage bag included. MIDABAO states the PVC coating is applied inside and out rather than being merely water resistant. The brand also frames itself as offering "the best all-around value" — that is marketing, not a verified comparison, so ignore it and run the numbers.
Pros
- 20 cubic feet from a low-profile 17 inch tall bag
- 8 straps total, plus anti-slip mat and storage bag included
- PVC coating stated inside and out for waterproofing
- Mounts to cars with or without a roof rack
- The supplied listing information does not state a weight capacity
- Strap counts appear in two slightly different wordings on the listing; confirm the exact contents with the seller
Verdict: A sensible middle-capacity bag for drivers who want lots of tie-down points and a lower profile than a 25 inch tall bag.
iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 15.3 Cubic Feet — Best for small cars that still want soft-bag pricing
At 46 by 34 by 17 inches for 15.3 cubic feet, this is the smallest iBirdie bag here — and it still rates above every hard shell in this roundup. That is the crux of the value argument for bags: the entry-size soft carrier out-volumes the 14 cubic foot Goplus and the 13 cubic foot boxes.
Materials match the bigger iBirdie models: 1200D oxford with PVC, reinforced buckles, anti-slip mat, and door hooks that let it mount with or without roof racks. It also folds compactly for storage when not in use, which is the structural advantage no hard box can match — a 53 inch shell needs garage wall space year-round.
Pros
- 15.3 cubic feet, higher than every hard shell rated here
- Compact 46 by 34 inch footprint suits shorter roofs
- 17 inch height keeps the profile lower than iBirdie's 25 inch bags
- Folds down for off-season storage
- The supplied listing information does not state a weight capacity
- No lock is described in the supplied listing information
Verdict: The right soft bag for a compact car or a first-time buyer who wants volume without committing garage space to a hard shell.
Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell — Best for the highest stated hard-shell load limit
Goplus rates this box at 14 cubic feet with a 165 lb load capacity and describes the shell as ABS and PC material. Among the hard shells on this page that publish a limit, 165 lbs is the top figure, matched only by Garvee's 165 lbs. It is also the largest rated hard-shell capacity here at 14 cubic feet.
Fit is the catch, and Goplus is unusually explicit about it: the listing specifies racks 17 to 22.8 inches wide, with crossbars less than 3.1 inches wide and less than 1.0 inch thick. Go measure your bars. Wide aero bars on modern SUVs can exceed that 3.1 inch figure, and a box that will not clamp is worthless at any price per cubic foot.
Security and access are well specified. The box opens from both sides, uses a double-lock design, and has metal lid stiffeners at the bottom that Goplus says make it more stable. Four quick connect anchors handle mounting, and the listing notes that both sides must not be opened at once and that the key comes out only after the cover is closed and locked.
Pros
- 14 cubic feet with a 165 lb stated load capacity
- Dual-side opening with a double-lock design and keyed security
- Metal lid stiffeners at the bottom per the manufacturer's description
- 4 quick connect anchors for installation on round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars
- Requires an existing rack measuring 17 to 22.8 inches wide with bars under 3.1 inches wide and 1.0 inch thick
- Rated capacity is well below every soft bag here, so the cost per cubic foot will rarely win
Verdict: The hard-shell value pick if you need a lock and the heaviest published box load rating, and your crossbars fall inside the stated window.
13 Cubic Feet Rooftop Cargo Carrier Box — Best for dual-side access on mixed bar types
Thirteen cubic feet, a 130 lb load rating and an ABS plus PMMA shell — that is the spec core here. The listing states it suits round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars, which is broader language than a single maximum bar width, though "most aerodynamic bars" is exactly the hedge that means you should still measure.
Access is the feature worth paying for on a hard box. Dual-sided opening with a keyed security lock lets you load from the curb side on a narrow street, and the listing describes mounting with equipped hardware and detailed instructions. The supplied listing information does not state overall external dimensions for this model, so if you need to confirm clearance against a hatch or a garage door, ask the seller for the box's length, width and height before ordering.
Pros
- 13 cubic feet with a 130 lb rated load
- ABS and PMMA shell described as protecting contents from the elements
- Dual-sided opening plus keyed security lock
- Stated compatibility with round, square, factory and most aerodynamic bars
- The supplied listing information does not state external dimensions or crossbar spread limits
- 130 lbs is below the 165 lb figures published by Goplus and Garvee
Verdict: A straightforward 13 cubic foot lockable box for drivers with common factory crossbars who want two-sided loading.
Rooftop Cargo Box, 13 Cubic Ft, for Family Travel and Road Trips, Black — Best for latch security you can verify by feel
Same headline numbers as the box above — 13 cubic feet of storage and a 130 lb capacity, in impact-resistant ABS plastic with PMMA — but the locking description is more specific. A three-point locking system means keys can only be removed when all points are engaged, which turns the key itself into a checklist: if it comes out, all three points are latched.
That matters more than it sounds. Never drive with a cargo box unlatched, and a lock that physically refuses to release the key until everything is engaged removes the most common pre-departure guessing game. The listing also states the box opens from both sides and stays open for loading, and that universal mounting brackets fit round, square or aerodynamic crossbars and install in minutes with no tools.
Pros
- 13 cubic feet and 130 lb rated capacity
- Three-point locking system that releases the key only when all points are engaged
- Dual-sided access that stays open while you load
- Tool-free universal brackets for round, square or aerodynamic bars
- The supplied listing information does not state external dimensions or a crossbar spread range
- No warranty term is stated in the supplied listing information
Verdict: Pick this 13 cubic foot box if the three-point lock confirmation and tool-free bracket install are what you value over a couple of extra cubic feet.
Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier — Best for a low-profile lockable box with a stated warranty
Garvee lists 12 cubic feet (340L) from a box measuring 54.3 inches long, 31.5 inches wide and 13.4 inches high, with a maximum capacity of 165 lbs. Note the shape: this is the longest and lowest hard shell here, narrower than the 34 inch Auto Dynasty and Rooftop boxes but 1.3 inches longer than the Auto Dynasty's 53 inches. Narrow and long tends to suit vehicles where a second item — a bike tray, a kayak, a crossbar-mounted basket — shares the roof.
The 165 lb rated capacity is the equal-highest hard-shell figure on this page despite the smallest rated volume among the boxes except Auto Dynasty's 11 cubic feet, which works out to a denser load allowance per cubic foot than the 13 cubic foot, 130 lb boxes. Garvee also publishes a one-year warranty, which is one of only two warranty terms stated across these ten listings. Dual-sided opening comes with 2 keys and 2 straps, and Garvee warns that one side must be locked while the other is open.
Pros
- 165 lb maximum capacity, the equal-highest hard-shell figure here
- Low 13.4 inch height and 31.5 inch width leave room beside it on the roof
- Dual-sided opening with 2 keys and 2 straps included
- One-year warranty stated by the manufacturer
- Waterproof, UV-resistant ABS construction per the listing
- 12 cubic feet is the second-smallest rated capacity on this page
- Requires a vehicle already equipped with a roof rack; Garvee directs buyers to verify fitting guidelines first
Verdict: Best for owners hauling dense gear rather than bulky gear, and for roofs that need to carry something else alongside the box.
Auto Dynasty Hard Shell Roof Top Mount Cargo Carrier Travel Luggage Box — Best for tight crossbar spacing
Auto Dynasty lists 11 cubic feet, a 110 lb weight limit and overall dimensions of 53 by 34 by 15 inches. It is the smallest rated capacity and the lowest stated load limit in this roundup, which makes it a hard sell on cost per cubic foot unless the fit spec saves you — and it might.
That fit spec is a maximum 13 inch wide cross bar, and the listing tells you plainly to check the dimension before purchase. Read it as a mounting-width ceiling rather than a bar-spread range. Loading is single-sided: Auto Dynasty says it opens from the passenger side, through a 14 inch wide opening, and the key lock releases only after all lock points are fully secured. Construction is UV-protected, weather-resistant ABS, with 4 heavy-duty tool-free mounting brackets and 1 security lock key in the box.
Pros
- Published overall dimensions of 53 by 34 by 15 inches make clearance checks easy
- Key releases only once all lock points are fully secured
- UV-protected, weather-resistant ABS shell
- 4 tool-free mounting brackets included
- 11 cubic feet and a 110 lb limit are the lowest rated figures on this page
- Opens from the passenger side only, so curb-side access depends on where you park
- Fits cross bars up to 13 inches wide, so verify your hardware first
Verdict: A small, locking, fully dimensioned box for drivers who need the published 53 by 34 by 15 inch footprint to fit a specific roof — not the choice if maximum volume per dollar is the goal.
What to Look For in a Value Rooftop Carrier
1. Rated capacity, and how it was derived. Bags in this group quote figures that closely match their outer dimensions; the hard shells quote less than their envelopes. Compare within a category.
2. Every weight limit that applies, not just the carrier's. Four separate limits stack up: the carrier's own rating, the crossbar or rack rating, the vehicle's roof load rating, and the vehicle's overall payload. The carrier's equipment weight counts against the roof and rack limits, and your cargo counts against all of them. Where a listing does not publish a carrier limit — as with the four soft bags here — the rack and roof ratings in your owner's manual become the operative numbers.
3. Bar geometry, in inches. Goplus publishes the tightest specification: racks 17 to 22.8 inches wide, bars under 3.1 inches wide and under 1.0 inch thick. Auto Dynasty caps cross bar width at 13 inches. Two of the 13 cubic foot boxes describe bar shapes rather than dimensions, which is less useful — measure and ask.
4. Lock and latch behaviour. Three listings here describe keys that cannot be removed until the box is fully locked, which doubles as a pre-drive verification step. The soft bags' listings do not describe a lock, so treat them as unsuitable for anything you would not leave on a picnic table.
5. Off-season storage. iBirdie states its bags fold compactly for storage, and MIDABAO ships a storage bag. A 53 to 54 inch hard shell needs permanent wall or ceiling space.
6. Published warranty. Only two carriers here state terms: RoofPax's lifetime zipper and 5-year fabric coverage, and Garvee's one year. Silence in a listing is not proof of no coverage, but it is nothing you can plan around.
For deeper background, see our roof rack crossbar compatibility guide and our breakdown of soft roof bags versus hard shell cargo boxes.
How We Research
This website does not perform hands-on or laboratory testing. For this roundup, each carrier's Amazon Creators API verified product record and its published listing feature bullets were pulled on 2026-09-11, then read line by line for the numbers that decide a value comparison: rated cubic feet, stated load limits, external dimensions, bar compatibility ranges, lock descriptions and warranty terms.
Where a listing gave both outer dimensions and a cubic-foot figure, those were multiplied out and compared, which is how the bag-versus-box capacity discrepancy in this article surfaced. Where a listing is silent — most often on weight capacity for the soft bags — that is reported as not stated rather than filled in from another model. Safety and recall context for consumer products is published by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, and general consumer protection resources are available at USA.gov.
Recommendation by Use Case
- Absolute most cubic feet per dollar: iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 36.4 Cubic Feet, because 36.4 cubic feet from a 56 by 45 by 25 inch bag is the largest rated capacity on this page and no other carrier here exceeds 23 cubic feet.
- No roof rack on the car: RoofPax 23 cft. Extra Waterproof Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag, on the strength of its 4 included patented door hook straps that fasten under the door's rubber seal gasket.
- Big volume, short roof: iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 22.6 Cubic Feet, which reaches 22.6 cubic feet from a 46 by 34 inch footprint by standing 25 inches tall.
- Lockable storage, heaviest published box rating: Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell at 14 cubic feet and 165 lbs — provided your bars fall within 17 to 22.8 inches wide and under 3.1 inches wide and 1.0 inch thick.
- Dense gear in a low-profile shell: Garvee Rooftop Cargo Box Carrier, with 165 lbs allowed in a 12 cubic foot box just 13.4 inches tall.
- A specific, known roof footprint: Auto Dynasty Hard Shell Roof Top Mount Cargo Carrier Travel Luggage Box, the only hard shell here that publishes full 53 by 34 by 15 inch overall dimensions alongside its 11 cubic foot, 110 lb ratings.
Final Verdict
If cost per cubic foot is the whole question, the soft bags win it and the arithmetic is not close: the smallest bag here, at 15.3 cubic feet, still rates above the largest hard shell here at 14 cubic feet. Start with iBirdie Roof Rack Cargo Carrier 36.4 Cubic Feet if your roof is wide enough, or RoofPax 23 cft. Extra Waterproof Rooftop Cargo Carrier Bag if you have no rack and want the published lifetime zipper warranty behind you.
But cost per cubic foot is not the whole question for everyone. If you need a lock, want to leave the carrier mounted, or are hauling tools rather than bedding, the hard shells earn their premium — and there Goplus Rooftop Cargo Carrier Hard Shell's 14 cubic feet at 165 lbs is the most capacity and the equal-highest load rating among the boxes on this page. Whichever you pick, confirm your vehicle's roof load rating and your rack's rating before you load it, because no listing here can tell you what your specific roof will safely carry.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are soft roof bags really cheaper per cubic foot than hard boxes? On rated capacity alone, bags start with a large advantage here: the smallest bag rates 15.3 cubic feet while the largest hard shell rates 14 cubic feet. Since the bag volumes appear to be outer-dimension figures, the practical gap is smaller than the headline numbers suggest.
What is the cheapest way to get a large roof cargo carrier if my car has no rack? Look at bags that publish a no-rack mounting method. RoofPax states its 23 cubic foot bag can attach using 4 included patented door hook straps that fasten under the door's rubber seal gasket, and both iBirdie and MIDABAO state their bags work with or without a roof rack.
How much weight can these carriers hold? The hard shells publish figures: 165 lbs for Goplus and Garvee, 130 lbs for both 13 cubic foot boxes, and 110 lbs for Auto Dynasty. The supplied listing information does not state weight capacities for the four soft bags, so your rack rating and your vehicle's roof load rating govern in those cases.
Is a 13 cubic foot roof box big enough for a family road trip? Both 13 cubic foot boxes here are rated for 130 lbs and described as fitting luggage, camping equipment and sporting gear. If you need more than that, the step up in this group is the 14 cubic foot Goplus among hard shells, or a soft bag rated from 15.3 cubic feet upward.
Will one of these boxes fit my crossbars? Only if you measure. Goplus specifies racks 17 to 22.8 inches wide with bars under 3.1 inches wide and 1.0 inch thick; Auto Dynasty specifies a maximum 13 inch wide cross bar; the two 13 cubic foot boxes and Garvee describe bar shapes and require a roof rack without publishing spread ranges in the supplied listing information.
Can I leave a soft bag mounted overnight? The supplied listing information for the four soft bags here does not describe a lock, while Goplus, Garvee, Auto Dynasty and both 13 cubic foot boxes describe keyed locking systems. Plan to remove a bag or empty it when you park where security matters.
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page was physically handled, loaded, mounted or measured by this website — we run no lab and make no claim to one. What informs it is documentary work: the Amazon Creators API verified product record and published listing feature bullets for all ten ASINs, retrieved 2026-09-11, read for rated capacity, stated load limits, external dimensions, crossbar compatibility, locking descriptions and warranty terms, with the dimension figures multiplied out to see how each brand appears to derive its cubic-foot claim.
That approach is well suited to a value question like this one, because cubic feet, pounds and bar-width tolerances are published numbers you can audit rather than impressions that need a road trip to gather. It cannot tell you how a zipper survives its third winter, how much wind noise a 25 inch tall bag adds, or whether a latch stays tight after 10,000 miles — for those, read owner reviews on each listing and check your vehicle's own roof load documentation before you buy.